August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lab of Broken Time

by Aslai - Jam Entry

About the game:
You are a Dr. Pepper chugging mad scientist who just made the worlds first time machine! However, due to calculation mistakes, you accidentally made the machine throw you in to a ten second long loop.

Make use of your ability to retain knowledge through a space-time warp and your time-static crates to make it through your meandering lab.




Due to family issues and poor time management, I was only able to spend about half the time on this that I wanted to. It conforms to all compo rules, except for time.

I only have 3 basic levels done that show off the simple mechanics of the game. I only had an hour to throw them together, so there's not much in terms of brain-bending puzzles. I may extend this in the future though.

There are also some minor issues with inter-object collisions, because I was really pressed for time... and there are a few tiling issues on the edges as well.

Oh well. Hopefully I'll have more time next go-around!


To add: More details about the game itself. I'll probably spend a few more (relaxed) days making a post-compo version that's more in line with my original vision.


Changelog:

Post Compo V1:
- Fixed game breaking bug where game would crash on most machines when changing level
- Fixed game breaking bug where game would sometimes fail to start up
- Added 5 sound effects
Post Compo V2:
- Fixed game breaking bug where game would crash on most machines when obtaining a green pickup
- Fixed many instances of physics goofups
- Added a few new tiles, reworked level 2 to take advantage of the new tiles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Theme(Jam)3.81
#75Innovation(Jam)3.56
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#210Fun(Jam)3.11
#292Audio(Jam)2.83
#340Mood(Jam)2.78
#371Humor(Jam)2.11
#387Graphics(Jam)2.89

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

I encountered a bug that crashes the game as soon as it starts level 3. I really enjoyed this game and would have liked to have finished it. Concept is great, sound is good, and the animation of the main character has a nice feeling of weight- reminds me of Flashback in that regard. Good job. Hope you get the bugs ironed out.

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48am

This game has lots of potential. I love the time reversal mechanics. The slow pacing of the game matches up well with the 10 second time limit. I too experienced a crash when picking up a green object in stage 3 or 4 (I forgot which).

With a few bug fixes, this game could be great!

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25am

Thanks for your feedback! I'll try to figure out how to fix the bug with the green checkpoints right now.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00am

Aha! after far too long, I found the silly source of all my segfaults... void set_tile( int x, int y, tile t ){ tiles[x+y*width] = t; }

Oh well. All the gameplay bugs are gone now! Yay!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

lol i like it, remember to me braid, good job, nice graphics, music and concept.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

This is a gem! Full props for innovation! My only complaint would be that jumping feels unresponsive mostly.

Do develop this into a full game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Excellent variety of time related mechanics, you should really expand on it!
And as a Dr Pepper chugging game dev, I approve of your description :D

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05pm

This game had some really cool effects, I'm impressed how much you got done in 3 days. Looks very complete, good job

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Excellent game! It felt a bit choppy, like the frame rate was a lot slower than it had any right to be, but otherwise nothing to complain about. Nice graphics (liked the timer :)), nice level design, nice time travelling mechanics

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Typedeaf, one of my biggest pet peves is when the framerate of the game doesn't match the framerate of the animations it uses. My options were either create twice as many frames, or halve the framerate. I guess if I take this game further though, it wouldn't hurt to increase the framerate of everything.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Amazed. I didn't tried the post compo because there were too many things added, and you should respect the time limit as everyone else. But i liked very much your honesty, one star more to Overall. Anyway, the game was great.
Graphics: loved the sprite animations, the only bad side was that the game ran a little slow: i noticed the 10 seconds were way longer than they should be, probably for the few fps. 4/5.
Innovation and Theme: I liked how you implemented it. The rewind, i must say, it surprised me. Original. 5/5.
Fun: Not much to say. 4/5
Audio: Time well spent on the audio. 4/5
Humor-Mood: Compatible with the rest. 4/5

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Pretty nice idea! Well executed, good job :3

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great potential, although the timer doesnt last for ten seconds, more like 20 :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05am

Now here's an original game! Going back in time was very cool. I just wish each level started you back at 10 seconds instead of what you had left. There was also a bug in the 3rd level, but I really liked it overall.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice game! Interesting mechanics, and a nice fit to the theme.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Really nice. Despite jumping directly into the game, the controls were easy to figure out and the mechanics became quickly apparent.

Definitely build it into a post-LD game :).

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24pm

The mechanics are awesome! this game shows what we can do in (10seconds)s :)

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Thanks everyone :)

Yes, I was planning on spending a bit of time cleaning up the code, then making a full game out of it. Stay tuned.

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Awesome idea you have going there with rewinding time.

I'm not sure if you caught that but the time doesn't reset when I enter a new round.

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

BenWhi and jprogman: Yea I realize that. It was changed in the post compo version. Unlike in the game, I can't rewind time to put it in the jam version :(

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

As a large fan of music that resembles the ticking of a clock, I have to commend you on the music behind this game. Moving's a bit awkward and falling off ledges is a bit annoying, but nothing major or that causes me to lose unfairly. Good job implementing new things each level; it keeps the gameplay fresh.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Nice idea with the theme, going back in time each ~10 seconds is pretty cool. Did you make the music?

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

You had me with "You are a Dr. Pepper chugging mad scientist." This game was about me! All an all, a fun little game. Would have loved more levels, but I feel that way with all LD games. Music, sound effects, good fit for theme -- a very nice LD entry!

Also, I don't usually see many people choose C++. I definitely liked the rewind feature; I'll be looking through the source a bit to see how you decided to do that :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

Loved the scientist's animations, really smooth and good-looking! That falling lab coat :)
Short game!

Gazok says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

I really liked the back-in-time mechanic. As you said, the levels were a little simple, but it seemed like there was plenty there for the time you spent.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:56am

It's a good little game. I had a crash at the end of level 3 so I couldn't do next levels. I like the twist on the theme. Game mecanics are very interesting too.

Aslai says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Thanks for all the praise, guys :)

LordHellMaX: Yes I made the music. You can rate it and poke fun at it at http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/547538

Nick Cash: I just record a list of variables at different time steps and then do a linear interpolation in reverse. I was initially using a spline, but my implementation was far too slow for the huge datasets. I was using an O(n^2-(n-1)*n/2) implementation, which is basically O(n^2/2). Linear interpolation is O(1)

As for the crashes after level three, that's just because it's trying to load a level that doesn't exist. Too bad I ran out of time. I'm definitely going to clean up the engine a bit and start working on a proper game though. This was my first real foray in to using Lua.

GigaBass, thanks! I try to make my graphics look somewhat presentable.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:20am

Props for the nixies tubes. The game feels solid and really smooth except for the slow jump, which I'm guessing is either from a slow pre-jump animation or that jumps only trigger on some sort of time boundary.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:25am

One of my favorites so far. Would love to see more of this game made. Jumping was a bit annoying at times is my only complaint

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45am

Nice start, liked it!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:03am

good job

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

Any chance we could get a mac or web version?

Aslai says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:08am

Last I checked, emscripten was pretty terrible, as was FlasCC, but I can take a look again if that would please you.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:36am

Nice job I love the rewind concept! Very nice game !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:54am

i really like the concept of this and it was a lot of fun -- would love to see more levels -- great job

ComicSans says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:27am

Very well executed. I especially love the vacuum tube numbers!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very nice game, very professional, clever use of the theme, but I think you should make the controls smoother, I couldn't manage to pass the green switch in level 3 because of the jumps above the square block. And I swear I tried at least 30 times.

Very strong game potential tho.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice puzzle game which incorporates the theme quite well. I also really like the artwork. The controls are a bit fiddly (especially jumping) which makes level 3 nearly unbeatbale. But still a fun game, I would love to see more levels! :D

Starspell says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:13pm

This is a great little game. I was thinking that the ten second looping would be like all the other games here. But I was gladly surprised.

It's really polished! I love the touches like the reversed motion at the end of the run (which is actually helpful to the game and not just an effect as well!) and the camera bumping.

The animations are great and I learned from this game how just using the animations to pause movement after falling from a great height really adds weight to the character and the fall. I will certainly be using that trick somewhere down the road.

Level design, music and animations are all great. I'd love to see a fully polished and complete game of this. You've got a good thing here. Well done!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:30pm

The game crashed after I reached the end of level 3. The gameplay was pretty clever. The graphics are missing details and you may consider using other colors, which fit better together.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]