August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cautionary Halt

by PerilousPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world is falling apart. Nukes have been aimed towards South Koreans by Madagascar. In 10 seconds, the nukes will be activated. Your mission is to hit the big green stop button before the nukes are launched. To give you time, the South Koreans have frozen time for everyone but you. You need to slowly reactivate time as you travel, and stop the nukes before the 10 seconds is up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#603Theme3.13
#784Overall2.83
#832Graphics2.43
#879Fun2.52
#891Audio1.69
#1011Innovation2.26
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20am

NICE GAME! I think your the first person to have a unique look on the 10 seconds, rather then a 10 second round. good platformer :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

This is the first platformer I've encountered so far in this LD, and it's pretty neat. It is hardcore, alright, but I like how it uses the theme in its mechanics. Good job.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Nice platformer. The only complaint is that it was boring waiting for the platforms to move slooooowly back to you if you miss them. Nice job!

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I like it. The first level is too hard for me though, but I didn't play platformers for years :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice little gem for a compo. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice game, but I didn't really like waiting for a minute to be able to continue thelevel!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Well done game, graphics are quite good. The one sound is okay :) and the gameplay is very nice, except a fast forward-button for the times waiting for platforms or for lasterrays to pass would be nice. To wait and the sometimes unexpected detected collisions are the only negative points I see. Oh, and I love the guillotines.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

I made it up to level 6 before I couldn't take the slowness any more. Otherwise, a decent little platformer. I liked the guillotine.

PerilousPete says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15am

Thanks for the comments guys. I like the idea of being able to speed up time (by, eg, holding space bar) but of course it's too late to make changes now. I might add that in a post compo version, though.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

I liked the idea that each level got closer and close to real time. That wasn't clear until I thought my eyes were deceiving me and I saw a laser move. But then around timescale .5-.6 the game became a little too frustrating for me as it involved waiting for platforms to arrive. I'm ok with a challenge of hard jumps and failing and retrying instantly, but when I have to wait 20 secs for a platform I want to kill babies :) But very nice effort and clever idea. I'd maybe rework some levels based on the above.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:55pm

The game plays and feels nice!
Its my understanding that you are simulating the levels at normal speed and forcing time stop. Its a nice thing to do but what ended up happening is, some levels became unplayable for me because the bullets blocked every jump route i could have taken.. so i had to die and try again. Apart from that, i liked it

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Nice game. Creative use of the theme. Sadly my skills were not good enough to beat it.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

At first I thought "OK, this is a decent platformer, but nothing really stands out". Then I pressed the first button, and I realised how the time mechanic came into play.

Still not the most memorable entry, but every element is polished and high quality. The difficulty is a bit frustrating, though. (Obviously, that's going to vary from person to person.)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Also, a typo in the intro screen: "staars".

Zap says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:21am

As already said in the comments, too much time spent waiting. On top of this, I also found it very difficult, which made me more impatient and lead to an overall frustrating experience.
But having said that, it's a very interesting idea, but I feel like it could be explored more to create more interesting mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]