August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds Lifespan

by Mlle Eole - Jam Entry

Guide these creatures to help them fulfill the great goal of their life!

- The blue ones wishes to meet some other creatures,
- The orange ones wishes to build a nest somewhere,
- The pink ones wishes to give birth in a nest.

Beware, each creature have only ten seconds lifespan!


Made in JS/Canvas. Warning, ugly code, this is my third project. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Innovation(Jam)3.15
#333Graphics(Jam)3.11
#385Theme(Jam)2.89
#411Mood(Jam)2.57
#500Overall(Jam)2.63
#526Fun(Jam)2.26
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

What a cute game (maybe because I imagine the fluffy creatures). The mood created by the colors is happy and warm.

Once the rules are assimilated, it becomes a bit of a clickfest to make every creatures happy.
However, it seems that the orange ones have really special needs, the don't like all the orange area the same.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Interesting but a bit hard game for understanding what to do. I like style and concept.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Very nice graphics. The rules are a bit much to take in though, I would've preferred a slower introduction to each type.

Mlle Eole says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Thanks for the feedbacks ! *warm/fuzzy*

@Colapsydo : Each orange is bound to one special area. :) I planned to indicate it but i didn't had the time to make it. So you have to notice which area appears when an orange born. :p

@Nerlin : I understand, i wanted to make some nice interfaces and a little tutorial to facilitate the understanding but i was too slow. ^^

@DaanVanYperen : same here. The first creatures are located and timed to permit to explain the controls, timing and each type of goals with a pause between each task, but at last i had to let the players figure it out... :)

Can't play now but i will check your games asap ! \o/

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

A good idea, but the "on click" control is a bit tedious, maybe I would have prefer to drag path or something like that. Also, because of the blue aura, the colors of the creature aren't that clear (well, they are, I'm not blind, but it could be clearer). Anyway, congratulations

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Thanks Pierrec ! \o/

Yep the controls don't have unanimity. :p Have you tried to enlarge the scope by using the mousewheel ? It facilitate the game a lot. The "drag path" idea sounds nice.

Yes it could have been clearer, i wanted to draw real creatures with their distinctive features, the colors were only placeholders but you know, delays... :p



Thanks alot for your tests, i didn't have time until now but yay that's time to start play your projects. :)

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Very interesting concept. The graphics are very stylish :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Was quite hard to control them but a lovely idea and pretty

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Really liked the art style.

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

An interesting game. I found it a little confusing telling the blobs apart and quickly forgot the rules and had to re-read them. I think if you added expressions to the blobs to show when they are unhappy or happy it could help fix it in my mind. Also the addition of audio and particle effects would helps with feedback.

There also seemed to be collision issues between the creatures and the middle section of the screen. I would have loved to have seen different stages.

It's a really cute game and well presented. Just needs a bit of tweaking I think.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:33pm

A nice little game and I like what you did with the theme. The interface and click-move methods weren't the best, but still a good job overall.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Takes time to get used to, specially the controls (even when radius is maxed), but the concept is very nice! Lovely art style as well!

Derbdale says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Really cute game, I quite like the graphics and the interface :)

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:07pm

The controls are a little hard to get used to, but I liked the simple graphics and the game mechanic.

M.O.U says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Good game! is difficult to start, perhaps with a more intuitive level design where the player gradually learns how the game play, it would flow better. But detail is great game

nSun says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

As Starspell, I think some icons or particles may help to understand what happening. They only live 10 seconds, so players need to fast evaluate each actions.
The graphics bias is very fine and clean. This puts the mechanics of gameplay in the foreground. It makes me think that it could produce several very different games, simply by changing the display.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:07am

Thanks very much, all of you. :)

@Starspell : yes you would have the good feedbacks to keep the rules in memory with the finished version.. And I really would like to add sounds and particules but i have no idea how to do this kind of stuff. I'm still a newbee. ^^
Yep my collisions are weak. Have to find a better way to do this. (:
Some different stages, it's a nice idea. :3

@M.O.U : Yes, i abandonned the tuto idea because i lacked of time but it's definitely something i want to bring back in the finished version !

@nSun: in fact i wasn't quite sure about the background, it could have been "flOw"-like ocean's creatures, the initial idea was to dig galleries in earth/sand, i thought a second about aliens in a weird planet, etc. :p

Thanks nice people, i see you tomorrow in your projects' comments. ;)

michail says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Interesting game, but it wasn't clear to me what is the real color of the creature at the beginning. It could be a really nice game if you added some sounds to it.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very interesting!
It could be more lively if the creatures are able to move on their own, even if just randomly in circles, I think.
Great work!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Interesting game.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Thanks ! :)

@michail : Yes, i should finish the game with better graphisms and all the stuff. I would like to add sounds / ambiant music but i don't know how to make them nicely.

@theholychicken : I tried but i abandonned because of the lack of time. If i finish the game, i will do it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]