August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Concave 8

by Taugeshtu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Concave 8 is a game about finding your way out of twisted labyrinth.
You may encounter following things:
1. Moving platforms;
2. Lasers;
3. Inverse gravity;
4. Mapper (in the room you start in);
5. Platforms;
6. Moving rooms.

Beware of death, and find your way out!

Things to know:
1. The lower you are, the higher you jump;
2. Voids in the Cube have a pattern, in which they move. Every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Innovation3.41
#427Graphics3.09
#860Overall2.74
#1055Fun2.19
#1075Theme2.40
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

Graphics are a little too abstract-y looking maybe. Movement feels spongy. Good job though!

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Thank you Steve for your feedback :) Yeah, I know, had to work from scratch on char controller, several reasons :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

My Eyes! Ah! Still hurts. Great idea, please finish the game!

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

All your eyes belong to us. Thanks for playing, I might, for the first time, consider making post-compo version :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

It's interesting, I'd definitely love to see it made into a full game someday though =D

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

A bit hard to understand and hard to see when all of those white thing are all around. But good gameplay there.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

Sad, my crappy laptop can't take your game. I will try this again and rate when I borrow my friends computer.

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10am

Thank you all for comments, appretiate that :) I doubt it'll make it to full-scale game, but could happened to be one of the levels in a bigger game :) Yes, it's pushing GPU a bit too harsh, could've done optimisation, but ran out of time ^_^'

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Interesting idea, the visuals are definately different, was really hard to figure out what was what though, the controls were off but I can understand that do to the time constraints and whatnot. Shame here isn't any sound, with such abstract visuals I feel like even something ambient or procedural for music could have worked really well and audio feedback could help a lot in terms of figuring out if you hit the ground and stuff. good job on finishing! Not sure how you got those visuals in Unity but it's a pretty fantastic achievement!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Weird graphics, kind of awesome though! Really difficult to figure out what's going on but got the hang of it after a while! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very cool looking. Hard to navigate, but it has a neat bouncy feel.

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43am

Thanks, guys :) Beardbotnik, I feel like making post-compo version, so controls would be improoved (a bit). And I should probably add some sort of instructions to player

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I love the aesthetic: DON'T DE-ABSTRACT IT! That's the best part!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I'd like to point out the abstract nature of this game.
That caught my eye.

I failed to find a purpose on this game. There's no control explanation whatsoever. I can't find this game's goal.

I imagine that I should find a gold, while navigating the cubic rooms?

All in all, A for effort, 4/10... Improve your game =)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

It's a kinky sort of game, I'm sorry I couldn't get into enjoying it. Still playing a while and saw the collapsing ceilling, lasers and such. Weird graphics! Some trippy shit :)

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Graphics are strange and confusing but that's probably part of the game, gameplay is good though!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Well, I managed to escape from the cube... although I think I may have done it in a slightly unintended way, by just jumping out of the nearest window to coordinate 13, and then watching the walls flicker past as I plummet to my eventual doom. Very interesting aesthetic, though!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very interesting art style. You might add some way to let the player know where they are supposed to be going to make it more than just randomly trying to find the exit. Looks like it has potential though. Great job for 48 hours!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

Video review available now: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2830967

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]