August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Teleportant

by Miltage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a special agent doing what you do best - killing bad guys. However, your state-of-the-art teleporter gadget is on the fritz and every 10 seconds you, and anyone near you, are teleported to a different location.

Controls:
WASD: move
Directional Keys: shoot
E or SHIFT: grenade
SPACE: mine

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#115Mood3.47
#131Audio3.37
#170Graphics3.64
#180Overall3.50
#219Fun3.37
#289Innovation3.35
#289Theme3.45
#346Humor2.64

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice shooter! reminds me very much of canablt (in style, not gameplay :P )

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

@matthias_zarzecki Thank you, Canabalt was my main source of inspiration.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

nice artstyle and smooth gameplay.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Good stuff! Something to keep in mind: players without QWERTY keyboards can't play the game because of the layout.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

This is so much fun! Excellent work, love the pixel art too. :) If you're thinking of adding more pickup able/power ups could be interesting.

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Haha, like the randomness! nice one.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This game wants to kill you. nicely polished ascetics!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Really nice, love the style.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38am

Great action! Felt like a movie. Loved how you were fighting in the rooftops and next you're dodging incoming trains. Great job! :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

man this game was fun. I really like the style you have going.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Love the graphics!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I love that graphics style, few colors but well complemented :) Good job!

Komradus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Quite challenging as the projectiles move quickly and are at times difficult to see (them being small and thin). Well done however, an interesting concept.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Overall a fun game. It was a bit hard to be ready for the teleport to the buildings, because I was constantly falling to my death, but I finally was able to do it.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Very nice art style to go along with an interesting game! The gameplay was nice, enjoyable enough to keep me trying a few times. One HUGE thing though that I didn't like very much at all was teleporting and being instantly killed because you were standing in the wrong area. I understand it's supposed to be dangerous and unknown where you'll teleport to... but man is it unfair at first. I think having a sort of "transition time" between the actual switch to preview what's ahead would have been nice, that way you don't punish the player for what they can't see coming.

The gunplay worked fine and was entertaining enough to keep the game enjoyable for a few minutes. I quite liked the concept of teleporting randomly, I just wish it were a bit more fair for the most part. I think that what you have here is fine and a good overall submission. But I also think that this concept of teleporting randomly could have been explored much deeper and had some really interesting gameplay..... perhaps if the project continues after LD.

But great job! I liked this submission.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Your music is exceptional!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

The graphics remind me of Canabalt :)

I like the random teleport mechanic, it causes some unpredictable results, which is very cool!

I think your character could look more apart from the enemies, even if just an inverted color scheme.

Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice job for 48hrs!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Pretty fun. I'm liking the art style and music. My only real niggle with it is the enemy shots and grenades are a bit hard to make out, so it's a bit tricky to keep track of whats going on. More locations to teleport to would have been cool too. Other than that, pretty good.

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:41am

Fun game!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:37am

Really cool! But the roof level keeps spawning me on thin air...

zzForrest says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I loved the quirky sound effects, and the music really grew on me. Also I liked the art style, very clear that canabalt had some influence in there. The gameplay itself was pretty fun, but in my opinion the bullets being more visible would have been nice.

someone says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Cool game, I failed miserably though.

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Loved the art, blood over black and white looks nice. The only problem i found is your character being alike the enemies, wich can be a little confusing after teleporting.

markusfisch says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Cool idea! And it's really fun! And I even like the music. Well done!

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Really fun game. The different weapons were great and the constant teleporting kept the game fresh.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really good shooter with a high replay value. :)
Graphics looks a lot like Canabalt with a GangGnam Style walking (when go down)
Keep up the good work! :)

domrein says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:15am

Love it. Very well done.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Awesome game! I like the varied environments and the idea that you can be teleported and depending on your position beforehand you can be in a dangerous position when it finishes...I can see a lot of potential in this, maybe if there were hints at what kind of environment was up next.

AdricZero says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Great job on the music. It was well worth the extra time you spent.

urth says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Pretty nice game.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very cool. I really like this entry. Everything is polished up nicely.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:00am

This was really cool! I wish the shooting controls had been decoupled from the buttons that turn you, though. In fact, I would have preferred holding down a button to strafe rather than juggling both WASD and the arrow keys.

meszka says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very nice art style. I like that the sound effects feel just as "tiny" as the graphics. Pretty addictive too.

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

Looks great and plays well with it. Really dig the cutesy tiny sprites and there's quite a lot of game there for 48 hours' work. Nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]