August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lokopolis

by Nik Sudan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grab as much gold as you can! Lokopolis is a procedurally generated adventure game where you have to gather the endless amounts of gold that appear throughout the ruins. Beware of the Cyclops guardian! Get some gold and he'll freeze for 10 seconds, so make the time worthwhile. Will you fall to the Cyclops? Or maybe one of the traps?

Lokopolis was made in GameMaker 8.1 in about 12 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics4.37
#38Mood3.82
#52Audio3.63
#165Overall3.53
#296Fun3.26
#578Theme3.16
#683Innovation2.79
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

BobmooJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Nice fun game, I kinda suck at it.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

hehehehe friggin nicely made as usual :3

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Beautiful looking game, although the character movement felt quite slow and stiff at times. Good work, well done :)

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Seeing "THE CYCLOPS IS COMING" is terrifying!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Great job on the character animation. It did feel a bit too dark and the one hit death was frustrating when you cant see what ahead. Otherwise a solid entry :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Traps attacking you from the darkness smells like artificial difficulty.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Quite hard game, nice creepy mood... "The cyclops ic coming!" could be a new catchphrase like "Release the kraken!" or something like that! :)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Some of the traps were pretty difficult to avoid which was frustrating at times but this was otherwise a really fun game with a nice atmosphere. The implacable cyclops made for a sinister enemy and the lighting helped a lot with the tension. The audio could perhaps benefit from being more intense to match. Good work!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:17am

Really like this one. Deserves more plays and ratings because it's so well polished.

Though I wasn't a fan of arrow traps, but maybe cause they seemed to be what killed me everytime!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:07am

Hard game, but very well polished. I enjoyed it! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:26pm

It would've been cool if the movement speed was a little faster though, and some more variety would have been nice. But otherwise, solid entry with excellent art and audio!

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

This game is really nice!
I like the ambiance. The musics adds to that. AND THE SOUND EFFECTS! UGHS! IT's REALLY SHOCKING!!

xD

Overall, I like it really much.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I have no complaints about this one. Good job.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I thought this was really fun!

Very Indiana Jones-like, with all the traps :)

Excellent graphics and sound, I liked when I had to squeeze between walls, felt very much like really exploring an old dungeon.

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]