August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Steps to Hell

by Morgawr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's time to climb down into the depths of hell with this time-constrained action-roguelike. The player is forced to climb down the levels of the dungeon every 10 steps.

What will you do? Will you battle monsters to gather exp and become stronger? Or will you look for loot and treasure? You cannot run away forever.


ABOUT THE GAME:

It is like a roguelike, each action spends one move, after 10 moves (unless it's the last boss fight) you will be forced to go down one floor.

Move with arrow keys, attack by "moving" on a tile occupied by an enemy. Use skills with A S D F (as shown in the GUI).

You can equip items (1 weapon and 1 armor) by walking on them, it will automatically equip the best one so don't worry about picking up weaker weapons.

TIP:

Since you are limited by movements, it is sometimes wise to not rush enemies and go for items instead, however keep in mind that on the 100th floor there's an unavoidable boss fight. Levelling up by killing enemies is useful because it gives you more spells and HP (also it fully heals you).

BALANCING:

The game is very unbalanced at the moment, sometimes enemies are just too strong, if you can't get a rare drop early on then it's very hard to successfully finish the game (especially because you can't level up because you're too weak). I'm slowly tweaking all the item and enemy stats, hopefully it will be balanced and more fun one day.

KNOWN BUGS:

Being a game developed in 48 hours, it has bugs. Some of them are interesting, some others are just annoying. I'll try to fix them but I can't guarantee anything.

- Sometimes the leveling up animation doesn't go away and keeps playing. Go down one level and it will go away.
- Sometimes damage numbers don't go away. Same as the leveling up animation.
- It is possible to move diagonally by holding two different movement arrows. It's also possible to attack multiple enemies by holding multiple directions. This is not intended but it's an interesting bug, I'll probably keep it.
- Sometimes the game crashes (usually when skills and level up animation are played upon floor change), I'm still trying to figure out why this is happening. I'm so sorry if this happens to you :(



Thank you for playing and remember to rate! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#281Audio3.03
#282Fun3.28
#291Humor2.75
#365Overall3.25
#444Mood2.86
#478Innovation3.06
#681Graphics2.69
#840Theme2.84

Comments

jcmoyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

After beating on the final boss for a bit the game crashed. I'm not sure if it was because it was a killing blow or not.

The game as a whole doesn't really go with the theme. That said, the art is (mostly) nice and the item descriptions are humorous.

wareya says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

I had fun and I love the interpretation of the theme. The music is chill and the art is silly. Aside from that, I had no idea what I was doing, but only because I didn't try.

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Actually pretty addictive. Nice. :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Nice and addicting. Loved how fast-paced it was :)

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

I really enjoyed this one. I did not have a chance to go all the way through because it took me a little bit to get used to. However I think the concept is fun and the music fits. I will probably come back and try to beat it later when I have the time, if that tells you anything about how I liked it!

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Not bad. Though ... did I ever loose HP? Not sure. ^^ Could have been more challenging.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

@sirtetris

If you are so lucky to get a rare armor drop, you can easily get through most of the game with that. Usually you don't get such drops until later so you'd be steamrolling the early enemies.

I can say that without such rare drops the game is very hard, which is why I'm trying to balance it more and release an improved version ^^

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14am

I like it, nice idea the limited steps for a rougue like style! Nice work :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Love it love it love it. I love roguelikes, love the items you've made and the humour you've applied. Would really like to see this developed to a full polished game - it's the most time I've spent on any of the LD entries so far. I'd buy it fo' sho'. <3

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Quite ambitious! I was able to dodge my way through the first 25 levels (basically avoiding all items and enemies... "is that a spellbook? no, it's trying to kill me!"). Somewhere around 25 I suddenly got "Bad Ending". I'm guessing that someone I never saw just oneshotted me. Sad.

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

The theme is 10seconds or 10 steps? :)
love the music but the idea is nothing new (widely used)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

This was just amazing! Love it, hope to see more! (THE hardest metal :D)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Music is very nice! The gameplay is fun.. :)

Serilyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

Fun game! I like the strategy involved with whether to go for the items or kill enemies for exp before you are forced to the (presumably harder) next level.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Damn that boss.

Eelfroth says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I've finally come arouind to play this. I really enjoyed playing. This game got a nice roguelike-vibe.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]