August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time To Cook, Comrade

by KevinZuhn - Jam Entry

GREETINGS, COMRADE! IT IS DEAR LEADER!

THE PEOPLE ARE HUNGRY, YOU MUST COOK FOR THEM! FOOD TAKES TEN SECONDS TO COOK! DO NOT CHECK YOUR WATCH, I HAVE BANNED ALL TIMEKEEPING DEVICES, AND TIME IN GENERAL! THE PEOPLE NEVER NEEDED IT, COMRADE!

DRAG FOOD INTO THE CORRECT COOKING DEVICE, AND CLICK THE DEVICE WHEN YOU THINK IT IS READY! DEVIATION FROM THE CORRECT TIME WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM YOUR DEATH CLOCK. YOU KNOW WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE DEATH CLOCK RUNS OUT, COMRADE!

OUR WORKERS (CHRIS STALLMAN AND KEVIN ZUHN) BUILT YOUR KITCHEN OUT OF GAMEMAKER 8.0, SFXR, MUSAGI, AND PHOTOSHOP!

YOU ARE NOW SATISFIED WITH MY EXPLANATIONS! FURTHER QUESTIONING WILL NOT BE TOLERATED! HOWEVER, PRAISE FOR YOUR LEADER AND REPORTS OF YOUR HIGHEST SCORES ARE APPRECIATED!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.33
Coolness80%
#15Theme(Jam)3.93
#39Mood(Jam)3.79
#52Graphics(Jam)4.27
#62Overall(Jam)3.73
#66Fun(Jam)3.56
#72Innovation(Jam)3.58
#197Audio(Jam)3.12

Comments

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

rofl the concept is just awesome :D
It's just really hard but even though i love it

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Awesome my LEADER !

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

Love the dystopian take of the theme. The game is very polished. Counting ten seconds on the head is still challenging though.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

PRAISE

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

Very good! but too hard for me.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

This is great! Especially like the visual design and sheer level of polish here. Fun to play and a great concept.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21am

The mechanic is cool, kind of addictive.
Graphics are pretty nice too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:08am

Leader wisdom : Never read a newspaper. It was an honor to cook for you great leader. Really funny game, nice graphics. Entertaining. Nice work !

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

So good, so hard. I'm glad I'm not a cook for our dear leader in real life. This game taught me things about real life.

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22am

Human rights are overrated!
Got it sometimes, missed most of it. T_T
Charismatich game, wish you the best!

ripatti says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33am

Hehe, I cooked 26 items. Hint: don't try to cook more than 1-2 items in same time. And when you cook two ones, start cook them simultaneously.

Really fun game. I like disign, graphics and leader's wisdoms. Ticking ten seconds in my head was fun too.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Mein Fuhrer i report that it is a very well executed game. Really nicely done from the mechanics down to the graphics and atmoshphere.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Nice game comrade, I suck trying to count multiple things to ten the same time, so I didn't fare in it very well, but I like the theme, graphics and overall feel!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

Awesome little game. I love the concept. Your interpretation of "10 seconds" was unexpected. I love the death clock.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Incredible! I really love the presentation, dear leader. It's very good!

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Really fun, interesting game, good work!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15am

You'd almost earned 5 stars for humour with the entry notes, and the leader wisdom bits nailed them :D:D:D

The art style is awesome as well, and the mechanic is very fun. Keeping track of items entered at different times is a real challenge.

Congratulations! This is one of the best entries that I've found so far n_n

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

Great work. This is a really unique concept that puts a pretty cool spin on the 10 second theme.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33am

LOL :D Great Humor!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47am

Hilarious! Very fun game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01am

good work comrade

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This is just great. Great humor and graphics and a perfect game within the theme :)

Taffaz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Great idea for using the theme. Well executed.

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Pretty nice idea, would be nice with some kind of punishment if you put the wrong dish into the wrong place and if there is too many dishes stacked up.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:51pm

YOUR PRAISE, WHILE MANDATED BY THE STATE, IS MUCH APPRECIATED! THE LOVE OF THE PEOPLE IS WHAT FUELS YOUR DEAR LEADER! YOU ARE ASTOUNDED BY MY GRACE, AND WILL NOW RETURN TO YOUR LABORS!
(But seriously, thanks for playing! Counting to ten sure is tougher than it sounds. Xgor, you actually can lose if the food stacks up to the top of the screen, it just takes a while, and you're more likely to lose from the death clock.)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice take on the theme. It was hard to keep track of everything without a clock. Good Job!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Kim Jong Un eats all the things!

Awesome game and the graphics are great. Nice one :)

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:06am

Hahaha, nice concept!
Very well done presentation as well.
Good job, comrade!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:50am

good job

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Great style, but with just counting in my head I didn't get very far. Need to find me a watch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]