August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Commander McSpace

by MadcoreTom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The gravity generator is on the fritz again. You, as Commander McSpace, must collect the parts you need to repair it and try not to kill yourself.

WASD or arrow keys to move, press enter to skip dialogue

Requires Java (6 or 7). Source hosted on BitBucket

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#195Overall3.47
#201Theme3.56
#263Graphics3.41
#266Fun3.30
#397Humor2.55
#412Innovation3.16
#442Audio2.74
#479Mood2.82

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very polished game! I love the art style.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good and fun game! Little annoying when you have to start over at the medbay, but i guess i just must play better :P

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22am

Great!
The ending kinda made it feel incomplete...

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32am

Incredible for compo. I love it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39am

Nice game. I especially enjoyed the music.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Cute and fun little game. Nice one.

Something was up with one of the sound effects (Linux, running the Java 6 version) that meant everything slowed weirdly down with a horrible crackling sound each time gravity reversed, but it was still highly playable and made me want to complete it.

Couple of things I noticed / thought of:

* The last two items don't get taken off you at the end.
* You get told you can go back to bed, but if you do, nothing happens.
* With no health and no way to die, you end up using the medbay as a shortcut, especially after trying to return from far-flung corners of the ship.
* NPCs seem to get stuck in the walls sometimes.

That said, a great effort.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54am

It lags a lot when gravity shifts on my Macbook with Java 7, but other than that it's all good. Really cute art style :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56am

very fun, love the use of the theme.
Very polished as well!

MadcoreTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Thanks a lot guys.
I think the lag issue is caused by the sound that is triggered every time something falls and hits the ground, although windows doesn't seem to have a problem with it. I think its within the compo rules if I try to fix it.

Sorry about the ending, the 'story' suffers a bit in my LD entries. There's nothing to do after you fix it, I just wanted to go back to bed :P

I'll make sure I play & rate each one of your games!

lcass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

quite nice.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36am

Pretty awesome game. loved the background music and the pixel art!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:39am

I liked how you connected story and theme. The art is very nice too. Great job!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:27am

Great little platformer, with great artwork and a fun twist. Music was nice too (sounded very much like a clunky space ship). I enjoyed it!

Were those little cat-looking things with eyepatches, which you could see in some of the side rooms, a reference to something? Seemed familiar, but I couldn't place it.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nicely made!

MadcoreTom says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:49am

@Solifuge, if you're tyalking about the guy with the yellow helmet, that's supposed to be Guillaume Emmanuel from Daft Punk

Thanks again guys

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]