August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ROBOT PLANET

by GeorgeBroussard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"I've crash landed on Robot Planet. My spacesuit is damaged and will only maintain ten seconds of oxygen. I need to fight through the Doom-Bots and steal one of their spaceships to escape. Readings show it's 20 levels from my current location."

HOW TO PLAY:
Arrow Keys to move
Walk into Doom-Bots to attack
Exit level before you run out of air
Pickup air / health
Get 1 health for finishing a level
Health and Air cap at 10

You can run through the whole game (20 levels) in about 5 minutes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Mood3.99
#23Audio3.88
#25Fun3.93
#27Overall3.97
#48Theme3.94
#146Graphics3.70
#225Innovation3.47
#383Humor2.58

Comments

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

the mixture of real-time elements with turn-based elements is definitely an odd one, but it works surprisingly well. the only thing that threw me off was the tweening on every action. it felt a bit slow for the real-time elements. it definitely added to the game's tension though, so i'd presume that was intentional.

either way though, great design here.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Nice graphics and "easy to understand" gameplay. I like it.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Really love how the design forces you to make snap decisions when the level loads. Since it's pseudo turn-based, I had to fight my instinct to stare at the level when it loaded. Also, the sound effects were great, I think the breathing really made it really immersive.

Big Dave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Enjoyed it quite a bit, good use of the theme for sure. The breathing sound when you're low on air really ratcheted up the tension, nice touch.

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Really good! I like the 2 "resources" you have on the field and the oxygen caps at 10 :)

xel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

Great game! Loved the roguelike gameplay mixed in with having to make time-sensitive decisions. Scored 2970 on my 2nd try.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28am

Interesting combination of turn-based movement with a real-time clock edging you on, I haven't seen that before.

The atmosphere is working quite well too, the breathing is creepy.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

The mood/sound is quite good. I would have preferred a full turn based system.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Cool game! Laser Squad style gameplay works great.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Cool gameplay, audio works well too ;) Stressing as it should be!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Great little game! It felt a bit strange with the air counting down in real time while everything was turn based but it added a good level of stress to forcing me to think/move quickly. Kind of like speed chess.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Superb game! Loved all the pulsating animations you managed to squeeze into everything. Saw a presentation about that and they called it "Juice", to make it juicy. Really intense and my pulse went up the last levels.

Wertle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I love the movement scheme and trying to pay attention to the enemy movement patterns, it lets me stop and think while the air loss maintains tension. Fantastic audio feedback!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38pm

very nice! reached level 16 and got squashed by two robots.. was hoping to reach some sort of ending but not even sure it has one? :)

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Fun and intensive game. :)

I died quite a few times at level 15-16, but then I finally escaped Robot Planet so that I could come back to earth and rate the game. :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

@orangepascal There's an ending at level 20! So close...try again! :)

Thanks for playing and rating guys.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Well balanced little Roguelike-like. Easy to pick up, but hard to master :) Well done.

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great job! It's really intense when you start running low on oxygen and start to panic :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

Hail to the king, baby! That was one amazing game George. The breathing and the music totally immersed me in the game. The addictive gameplay kept me coming back for more!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

Great game, and thanks for that BetterMazeGenerator class! This will be a good reference for anybody else wanting to make a simple roguelike.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41am

Order now Episode 2 and 3 to continue your adventure! (TM)

This is great fun, very atmospheric when you're in the later stages and close to die. Well done!

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16am

I will punish the Doombots!

Good stuff. I love the interplay between trying to rush through the levels and dodge robots and having to veer off course to grab air bubbles. Also, the interesting moment when you have to decide if you'll lose more air running for a bubble than you'll get from it.

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

This is fun and original. I love the mixture of real-time and turn-based mechanics.

zeh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35pm

The mix of turn-based/real-time actions take some time to sink in. But that's just a small detail... very very good.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Loved the horror aspect to the game, and the 10 second air gives a real sense of urgency. Great job! =D

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Cool sounds and nice graphics. It works suprprisingly well with the turn-based trick and the ticking clock.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Really solid entry. I love how simple it is but how well everything (graphics, sound, theme) work together.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41am

Fun game with a good sense of panic when running low on air. I love the running out of breath sounds, they really get you going. I finished it on my second try. Not sure if it was getting harder or if I was just getting better at grabbing powerups! :P

triplefox says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06am

Score 2825
Kind of contradictory to have turns and a time limit, but I had fun with it.

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Fast paced decision making is brilliant and fun ... but lake of different strategies hurt a bit ...
Great game . :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Wow that is awesome. All this levels, all this polished controlls and graphics. Nice Mood... I love this game.

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I love the intensity. After a few tries, I made it to level 10, then got stuck for a split second then panick-hammered the arrow keys, then died. Love the art too. I would maybe continue tweak the weapon blasts to better show who they're coming from; the difference in size and color weren't enough to differentiate, for me anyway.

Great game overall. Also loved the sound.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

It's curious how it feels very easy yet very hard the same time, I keep getting killed at around level 15, haha. Very nice and distressing athmosphere, the ambient and breathing really add to the feel. True fight for survival! Good work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00am

Noooo! I was literally two steps from the exit of level 20 when I was murdered by robots.

Great game. I was mentally in puzzle game mode because of the turn based movement until I realized the clock was ticking. It's an interesting combination that works surprisingly well. The audio is quite good too; it really communicates urgency. Nice work!

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11am

Super fun and polished. Love the sound!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

This was wonderful. Right up there with my favorite games from this LD. The SFX add so much and for such a simple game I had to play a # of times to get to the end.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

really enjoyed it! liked every bit of it.. =) the art, the gameplay, the sound.. brilliant!

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Wow! the best game of compo IMHO.. HIGH FIVE!!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Excellent job on creating an oppressing atmosphere, sfx are really well done.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

Really cool :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Damn, that was intense, and really fun. Probably my favourite game thus far. The audio, the graphics, the overall polish... it's all great.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

For a game that looks very simple in the screenshots, there's a suprising amount of polish in the sound effects and visuals. Just the breathing sounds add so much to this... very nice.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Great entry, really liked the atmosphere!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Love the gasping air sound effect as you are about to run out of oxygen.

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice work! Cool art style and simple but strong mechanic. The need to make quick decisions really added to the tension, as did the panicky sound effects. The difficulty level was just about right too.

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

After many close calls, I managed to escape Robot Planet!

I love the gasping for air sound effect, it really makes me
feel anxious to get to the end of the stage/get oxygen.

I also like how the graphics are simples and effective.

The movement scheme worked in a great way with the need to reach for oxygen.

Great job in this game!

stenol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great game. Easy to play and understand. Great sound.

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Awesome game George love the pure rogue like nature to this.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:22am

I felt that I didn't like the mixture of real-time elements with turn-based elements because when I died, it didn't feel like it was my fault. It felt like the time restriction's fault.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:14am

I really enjoyed this. It felt really balanced and I was stressed out for the duration. Died on lvl 20... will play again.

rylgh says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:04am

Great game man! Beat it my second try. Tense but very enjoyable. Feels quite a bit like Zaga-33 but the real-time pressure is a good twist. Tweens and everything felt great, especially the robot death effect.

Didn't realize at first that picking up hearts gave me more than 1 health back... led to me playing more conservatively the first time, and had a few moments where I didn't understand why I was still alive. Not complaining :)

rylgh says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:18am

No big deal, but if you wouldn't mind uploading your whole unity project I'd be curious to try it out. Just like to see how other people go about organizing/hooking up theirs, maybe learn something new.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:19am

@rylgh, thanks for finishing. I put effort into that "ending" just for sake of completeness :)

Ultimately I'm tempted to extend this and have different robots with different behaviors for an added layer of randomness and maybe strategy.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:20am

Wow I escaped Robot Planet with literally 0.6 seconds of air left! Great game. Loved it. Felt like a panicky roguelike. Awesome presentation and sounds were in particular good, loved the breathing. Amazing level of polish with the different effects and little touches you've got. Up there with my favourites so far. Could have done with being a bit more difficult as I was fine except for the last mission. Overall though, my summary has to be: LOVE IT.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

You mixed the turn-based and time-based elements very well. Your game gets really tense at some points, great work!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really interesting, very fun. It was pretty challenging too. The hyperventilation sound effect was able to make me panic a little, or at least made me hurry up.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Mixing dungeon crawling rogue style with a time limit is great to add extra tension. The breathing and other audio makes things even more tense. The laser blast also feels satisfyingly chunky. Very nice game.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Fantastic game! Loads of polish, and juicy visual feedback.
+5 on the sound design as well!

Gameplay is like the ancient game Dalek Attack (I was 6 back then) so bonus points for nostalgia

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Solid game. I liked to how you have to balance your health and air. I escaped from Robot planet and had a score of 2450.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Nice game, at the beginning I was thinking that those bot were hard to avoid as I was running like a crazy guy, then I noticed they were moving only when I moved, and ran out of oxygen. Good balance of "hurry" vs take "your time to think" here :)

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

I really love the combination of very simple art and complex visual effects. Creates quite a nice atmosphere.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:52am

nice graphics - great mood -- excellent controls = awesome game

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:06am

good job

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Really really good game here! The theme is perfectly used in this one. The mix of turn based strategy with realtime constraint works really well! I'm almost jealous I didn't have the same idea :)

However, it would have been perfect if some harder mobs were a little more clever: like a mob that follows you, but only moves 1 turn out of 2. Or mobs that do twice more damages?

Oh, and you especially did well on the art & sounds on this one. Which is undeniable proof that coders CAN actually draw despite what they all pretend.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice graphics. The game-play and controls are really well polished.

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Amazing game!

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Really awesome! Felt really panicked all the time because I kept having to choose between going for air or for health and felt very rushed. Very fun, managed to escape eventually. Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Really nice game. Was a little strange that the timer ran independently of the turn based system but it still worked out. Really well polished too. Nice job.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:05am

I love how juicy this game is! Really nice entry!

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:00am

Very solid entry. The graphics and sound blends in a very cool way. The mix between turn based and real time was kinda off and I wish I could shoot or setup traps.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Real nice game with a simple gameplay that reminds me of the K.I.S.S principle. Nice graphics and even some narrative in there too.

Good job George!

Neil says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:49pm

This worked really well, very intuitive, great atmosphere and quite tense!

michail says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very interesting mix of real time elements and turn based movement. Unfortunately I only got to level 19 after few attempts, I'm not good in racing against the clock.

mrtibbs says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:44am

Really cool game. Great atmosphere, nice controls and a neat gameplay loop. Awesome work.

recursor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:51am

This has a lot of polish. I really like the graphics and sound effects. Nice use of the theme too. This one is going into my "play more later" folder.

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:22am

Great atmosphere! Sounds effects make a lot. I like game mechanics

meszka says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Interesting use of theme. Very nice sounds, especially the breathing.

rogueNoodle says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

The breathing sound made this game for me - it added a ridiculous amount of tension, and actually gave it a survival-horror feel, which I love. Very cool entry!

Cryovat says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

I escaped Robot Planet! :D

I loved it. The graphics, effects and sound just works wonderfully together, and the resource management made it tense.

Managed it on the first attempt, but had a lot of very close calls along the way. Excellent work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]