August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Factory Wars

by Evil Cult - Jam Entry

Factory Wars is a strategy game where you can construct and configure buildings that produce automated units every 10 seconds. Use a diverse mix of units to capture resource points and march your way to victory!

How To Play:

The game is mouse driven. You can look around the map by clicking on the minimap, using the middle mouse button to drag the main map, or using either WASD or the Arrow Keys. You can Build by clicking on empty plots of land and Set Production by clicking on a factory.

You start with a castle base and six empty plots of land. Each of these plots of land can have a factory built upon it. You can control the production of the factories, as well as the route that produced units take across the map. Each factory can produce a unit every ten seconds. You can knock down an existing factory to build one of a different type.

Every ten seconds you also get a base income, as well as gradually increasing income over time. Capture flags for higher income.

The objective is to destroy your enemy's castle base while protecting your own.

Note: Make sure you extract the entire zip somewhere before launching the game! There's an EXE and a JAR file in there depending on the platform you're using. The Lower Resolution download is a 640x480 fixed Window for smaller screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#46Overall(Jam)3.79
#66Fun(Jam)3.56
#97Audio(Jam)3.48
#110Graphics(Jam)3.96
#132Mood(Jam)3.36
#222Humor(Jam)2.71
#325Innovation(Jam)2.90
#334Theme(Jam)2.98

Comments

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

It is well produced, but perhaps a bit too easy to the point of being boring I just built two factories, did nothing else, and won. It really is a letdown considering that it is not a bad idea for a game at all and obviously had a lot of work put into its presentation, it is just that it needs more balanced elements, which is a hard thing to do in a competition like this.

skarab says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Awesome tiles. Nice music. Nice theme. Doing Zed in short time feels plainly hard. But result is nice, even if a little boring. Greets.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:54am

Nice work! Love the graphics. The stripped-down gameplay is great too.

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00am

Great audio and graphics. The factories seem overpowered, but the concept is solid and it's fun to play. Great job!

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Doesn't start here (Mac OSX 10.8.2 ML). Too bad, would've loved a RTS!

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I really wanna try this game but it's crashing on my mac osX 10.8.4

I will try it on my linux box at home later today.

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

lack tutorial in the game)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Awesome entry. Graphics are audio are really great. The game's too easy though!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Finnally I saw a decent tower offense game lol~ Good at every aspect, but I hope the tempo could be faster, and you can modify the control of camera. Really nice work, enjoyed it :)

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Best game so far, but too easy! I really enjoyed it though!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

once i figured it out, i enjoyed it. graphics were really nice. simple and fun, good game.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I really liked this game, made me feel like I was controlling the minions in dota/moba game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice graphics, a lot of work have gone into this game, good job!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Zuper! ..err.. I mean super Z clone! Graphics, audio, gameplay, everything is really well made and polished. Just add option to play with better (harder) AI and it will be perfect. Good job!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Most fun game of LD so far.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Please expand it to full-feature commercial game!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

this could be great if there is well more , Dude I will pay you money for more of this game AWSOME

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

awesome game!!! really cool! but i win before collect 300$ for machine factory... how can i collect 600$ for tanks factory?=)) GREAT JOB!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Graphics is bright and fun! Enjoyable game! God Job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Very nice graphics.. Good Job!

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:13pm

This game looks great, but sadly it's not running on my Mac. I tried both versions.

Sat Aug 31 19:08:39 CEST 2013 INFO:Slick Build #264
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
Sat Aug 31 19:08:40 CEST 2013 ERROR:Could not get the JAWT interface
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not get the JAWT interface
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.lockAndInitHandle(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.access$100(AWTSurfaceLock.java:51)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock$1.run(AWTSurfaceLock.java:94)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock$1.run(AWTSurfaceLock.java:92)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.privilegedLockAndInitHandle(AWTSurfaceLock.java:92)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.lockAndGetHandle(AWTSurfaceLock.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXCanvasPeerInfo.initHandle(MacOSXCanvasPeerInfo.java:57)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXDisplayPeerInfo.doLockAndInitHandle(MacOSXDisplayPeerInfo.java:56)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.PeerInfo.lockAndGetHandle(PeerInfo.java:85)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXContextImplementation.create(MacOSXContextImplementation.java:47)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.<init>(ContextGL.java:132)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:847)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.tryCreateDisplay(AppGameContainer.java:342)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.access$000(AppGameContainer.java:32)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$2.run(AppGameContainer.java:407)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:388)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:357)
at net.evilcult.tenseconds.GameMain.main(GameMain.java:23)
Exception in thread "main" org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Failed to initialise the LWJGL display
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:418)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:357)
at net.evilcult.tenseconds.GameMain.main(GameMain.java:23)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Personally it's been a bit of a shock for me to see the level of compliments we have been getting and it's great motivation for us to continue working on games in the future.

Unfortunately we haven't got access to a mac to test on but if we work on this game post-compo I'm sure this will be something we will work towards.

-Andrew (Art/Design)

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I was just playing Z the other day!

wbobeirne says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:06pm

This is incredible, I see potential for a full-fledged game. Reminds me a lot of Warcraft 3 custom games. My only complaint is that the best strategy was to just send your guys straight down the middle. Perhaps a wall in the middle that guys on their team can shoot over or something, that needs to be destroyed could work. Also one nitpicky thing, health bars would be great.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Pretty damn good game - it was fun finding the different unit's strengths and weaknesses, although at the end I just amassed heal bots and gun robots.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice game! I played some rounds and you hit the core of these war games really good. Was fun to optimize the strategy how to invest the money in new unit or factory types. The graphics fit well and the music is great. Some issues I want to note for a post-compo version: The tanks move a bit laggy and they obstruct other units from moving. Additional, they are a bit overpowered :D Another problem: sometimes units don't fight on the road on the top or the bottom of the screen, but move to the mid if they spot an enemy. Anyway, well done!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:17pm

A tower defense game, just like the one I've seen at a local game jam, only with worse sound effects. Good game, congratulations for making this in 3 days.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:19pm

@wbobeirne
We were actually going to have walls for the top/bottom paths to make them harder to get to! We wanted the majority of the combat to be on the middle path with the other lanes meant as alternative bonuses as they had the extra resources. We also wanted to include health bars but did not get the time! They will definitely be included if we do a post-compo version.

@Jeremias
Initially we wanted to block the lanes completely by making some sort of tiles to seperate them (cliffs, water, etc) but we ran out of time so had to face the issue of the mobs moving between paths :(

Thanks again all for the feedback!

-Andrew(Art/Design)

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Fun game with great graphics and audio. An RTS is a big feat. I really enjoyed watching the punch-bots punch.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:11am

@reheated
Thanks! The punchbot was the first bit of art I did for this game and one of the first things I've ever animated before. I was pretty happy with how it came out!
-Andrew(Art/Design)

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Woo, RTS! I liked the mech-gunner the most. With a bit of repair assistance, it can deal quite some damage ^_^

Neat graphics, and the background music is nice and squeaky =)
The game is a tad bit too easy, but I'll definitely check your homepage for more!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Wonderful game, it's so addictive ! I was not sure since we can't control the units once they are created but wow ! This game is really cool, difficulty is perfect ! Amazing graphics, funny robot animation when they fight. I love this game!

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Goods: Nice work. It was kinda hard and really fun. Nice graphics and music. Also I like how there are random sentences pop up that make you laugh.

Improvements: should show the specialties of each unit. I just blindly build the units and hope they can kill the enemies and I don't know how are they different from each other.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:10am

This is so much fun!
I loved the absence of micromanagement, and how everything was about macro.
The funny unit speeches was a very nice touch!
Outstanding work!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:36am

Lovely art and music for this game.
Great gameplay, but I found it a bit tough to figure out how to play. But once I did, it was great. A tad easy though.
Great job on this! You must have put a lot of effort for thae art. :)

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:34pm

It's really tough but this RTS is strangely addictive. With a bit of polish I could really see this game as something you'd find in a store. Brilliant game!

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I agree with everything theholychicken said.

I really like these games that just kind of play themselves, and I think the difficulty level is good for Ludum Dare.

NICE! :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I didn't get very far in this, but I'm very impressed. Great coding of a lot of entities, awesome graphics and audio. The RTS gameplay reminded me a bit of "Dune II". I may well come back to this after the compo to see if I can do better.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

Super cool tower defense, I love the execution, everything is very well done but I wish it was way harder because it's just too easy and there's no need to think elaborate strategies. Vey cool game nevertheless

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]