August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens and such

by Waynetron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Missile Command meets Tetris.
The game has two alternating phases. The puzzle phase and the alien blasting phase. Each lasts 10 seconds at a time.

** Puzzle phase **
Join 4 or more of the same coloured squares to increase your alien blasting potential (any direction, as long as they touch).

Pink: Shield
Yellow: Blast radius
Green: Missile speed
Black: Nothing

** Alien blasting phase **
The key thing to know here is that a direct hit will not hurt an alien. Your missiles will fire to wherever you click (only 3 can be active at a time) and detonate when reaching their target. Any aliens caught in the shockwave of the explosion will be killed.

Protip:
The white aliens will always drop a block

Post Compo version includes some bug fixes and a skip button on the puzzle phase.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#132Innovation3.66
#145Graphics3.71
#224Overall3.43
#336Fun3.20
#701Audio2.26
#730Theme2.97
#789Mood2.44
#829Humor1.79

Comments

YopSolo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:56pm

wow great game concept !
warning, You don't have embed your Font

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

I really liked how the 2 gameplay styles complemented each other. Well done!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23am

Like the concept!
But 10 seconds in customizer is awful for me. It's interesting for some people but I don't like it. I don't like timer in puzzles at all =(
Good job anyway!

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Oh! I really like this!
The art is nice and clean, and the concept is great. I actually spent quite a bit of time playing :3

It took me ages to realise that where you click is where the bullet explodes, and that the bullets passing through an enemy does nothing. I found this really unusual and difficult at first, but felt I was getting better the more I played - which was really satisfying.

The thing I'm not so keen on is the timer during the puzzle. When you do have pieces it doesn't seem enough time, and when you don't it's annoying having to wait.
The game also got stuck for me on level 9 with 2 seconds left - enemies kept falling without damaging the shield, and the timer was stuck.

Bonus points for the name :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Clean art style, nice approach to the design and fun gameplay! good work :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Arghh! I don't get it! What is the "customizer" bit? Why is it changing?!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Clever concept and nice graphics. This is really fun to play your game, and pretty addictive too! Great job.

Waynetron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

Ok, I've updated the description with more detail to hopefully help though who are a little confused.
I've also added a Post Comp version with some bug fixes and a skip button on the puzzle phase (Can be frustrating waiting 10 seconds if you don't find any new blocks).

Waynetron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

By the way I don't think it's possible to beat level 15. If anyone does, I'd love to know.

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Very easy to understand, pick up, and go without even remembering to read your introduction. Very clever game design. It was really fun!

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice crossover :)

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Sweet, sweet little game ! A game over screen would have been nice.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice mashup between two different gameplay types. I also enjoyed the visuals. nicely done.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Nice game, neat graphics, interesting mechanics!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:36am

Reminiscent of puzzle quest, the two different gameplay modes worked together better than I would have expected.

headchant says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:17am

It's quite hard (and probably not meant to play with trackpad) but the concept is great! You should keep working on it!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:27am

Really cool idea, works nice except that some aliens seem to be immune to the missles, they go right though them.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice concept, although the hit box of alien is a bit picky :D

Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice game, fun to play. Lvl 15 was just impossible. 10 sec to put the squares seems not enough and it's impossble to change pieces but it's still fun.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:23am

Awesome man! Although I couldn't figure out how to rotate the blocks.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Loved the concept and found the game amazigly fun but we really need more time in the puzzle phase, in 10 seconds there is just no time to think.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]