August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Cube Guy

by Pavel M. DlouhĂ˝ - Jam Entry

Update3 (15/9/2013): Playthrough video added!
Update2 (5/9/2013): Mac OS X version is available!
Update1: Mac OS X version will be available within few days!

Note for Windows: OpenAL is required. Use oalinst.exe to install OpenAL32.dll (you will find it in the same folder like RainbowCubeGuy.exe).

Controls in game: just left, right, up and down
Element selection navigation: up, down and enter

What to do in a game? You have 10 seconds to wait to Game Over! But Game Over is not a good end of the story. Collect hourglasses to have 10 seconds again for each! Collect all 10 hourglasses to enter next world with new music and new graphics!

We made this game as a team:
Brigita Linerova (24 years old) - art and design
Jirka Kantor (26 years old) - programming
Pavel Dlouhy (35 years old) - programming
Vaclav Spiral (16 years old) - music

Thanks for playing!

Feel free to contact us.

NOTE: Our game is based on NEU Engine (Google for "90Edges Universe Development Kit")

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Audio(Jam)3.48
#196Mood(Jam)3.17
#217Graphics(Jam)3.56
#365Humor(Jam)2.13
#374Overall(Jam)2.93
#446Fun(Jam)2.52
#461Theme(Jam)2.70
#531Innovation(Jam)2.30
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17pm

the visuals and sound is lush, but the camera scrolls far too slowly, i had trouble completing the levels cause of it

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49pm

stewthepoo: Thank you for the comment. Me too. :) Without this slow camera it would be too easy. It is intentional. I hope majority of players will like it. But I may be wrong... :) Now I will check out your game. Screenshots looks interesting!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Love the 8-bit style graphics, you have a good palette worked out. Nice little game.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

My character got lost off screen a fair bit but all in all, really nice. Really cute art too. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Thanx guys, it was hell of a weekend and so much work on art. I am so glad to see, it was worth it :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Feel free to join us on FB:
https://www.facebook.com/RCGgame

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55am

Great looking visuals, wasn't a big fan of the camera scrolling either.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

As the other people, I've to say the camera moves too slow, and that makes it difficult have a good game experience.
However, I love the way that the song changes according to the level and the graphic style, so I forgive you the camera issue, good game!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Level design is a bit sloppy - it's basically the same "loop around the square taking everything in your path" four times with a palette swap. But this might just be a time issue.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

A bit of level variety in terms of layout would have been lovely, but otherwise it's nicely put together. I must follow suit with others and tip my hat to the music choices.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Thank you very much for your comments.

With regard to slow camera: It is my mistake. At the moment of implementation I saw only one other (worst in point of view of some gameplay challenge) way how to quickly implement camera movement. Now I see third (better) option and I will realise it in a new version some day later after rating. It will be better game experience and still the same challenge! :)

LemmingSurvivor: Yes, we run out of time and made actual gameplay in last two hours.

GarethIW: Thank you! Vaclav Spiral (member of our LD27 team) is excellent music composer. He managed to compose all this music during those 72 hours. It's unbelievable (not only for me)!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I like how colorful the visuals are.

The camera needs to be faster though, so the player doesn't have to wait for it to catch up.

kristof says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:52pm

The music is very cool. Also the graphics are quite nice, although the parallax effect was a bit too strong and the camera was too slow.

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:47pm

The graphics are great, specially because of that parallax!
But I, too, didn't quite like the camera...

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Wow! amazing atmosphere! impressive!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]