August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Castle of Doom

by emveyh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my 5th Ludum Dare and it was really fun :) The game was made in about 30 hours.

About the game:
You are trapped in the "Castle of Doom". Escape through 20 levels, randomly picked at the start of each game. The only problem is: You only have 10 seconds to reach the end of the level!

Controls:
- Arrows Keys to move / jump
- Space Key to restart

Thanks for playing :)

Game not running?
Try "java -jar *path-to-jar-file*"

Update: I've added a web version (JavaApplet) !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#57Fun3.73
#78Audio3.55
#106Graphics3.85
#147Overall3.56
#175Theme3.62
#180Mood3.32
#389Humor2.57
#674Innovation2.80

Comments

robertcodes says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Beautiful game. Unfortunately, it only seems to work on Mac when run from terminal (java -jar [path])...

emveyh says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Thanks for plaing :) I will add a Web / Applet Version tomorrow, so that it's easier to launch

Sketchist says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Awesome game, I love it!

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:48pm

That's quiet awesome.. The music fits perfectly to the time-limit! :)

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Loved it and beautiful. Music was perfect for it too. I glitched one time into a wall but I still liked the game. Great job.

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Seems to be a lot of leaps of faith boo-hiss :P
Needs a little delay in between levels, sometimes I'd be running right, and then the next stage would start, and now I just walked off a ledge into some lava before I had a chance :(
Love the graphics and music!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice one. I love it!

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The movement felt a bit rushed. Still, I found myself playing over and over again.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Well done game! I like how the rooms are randomized. Nice pixel art.

The game is very hard though, because the controls are very wonky, and dying from being unable to see up or underneath you properly is super cheap, especially with rooms with lava pools underneath that except you to blindly jump in and hope not to fall into one.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

While this is perhaps the most obvious idea for this theme, it's a solid execution. I get that randomly generating levels is outside of the scope of LD, but one way to cheaply add more variation would be to randomize the player's starting location.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Will post live video review later.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I love the art, and the sound and music are both very well done, although I didn't like the lack of a jump sound. The jump also felt a little bit too fast, especially compared to the movement.

The random level generation is a good idea in theory, but with the levels having to be so short with the 10-second limit, it doesn't really feel fair to me - there are some that are ridiculously difficult, and then some where all you have to do is jump a couple of times and you're done, with no threat of death at all. I also had a level where I was immediately dropped into lava, which was obviously not thrilling.

I think having predesigned levels with a clear difficulty curve would make more sense in this format, or at least having the level generation have some logical progression of difficulty. The randomness does add a replayability factor, but it simultaneously diminishes the feeling of accomplishment you get from progressing.

I also think having a short count down at the beginning of the stage might be a good addition, as it would give the player a little bit of time to assess the level before throwing them into panic mode, scrambling towards to exit door (assuming the level difficulty isn't completely shot by the randomness).

In short: fun concept, but a bit too abstract for my tastes.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

After playing a little more I see that the level generation isn't random, but the order of the levels seems to be. I still feel like having a clear progression of easy to difficult would make more sense, and I still dislike that level that has a gap to the right of the start which is directly over a lava pit.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Really great game! It was nice :3

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I'm glad that I'm not alone who somehow managed to have ridiculously hard game! :D I really like the graphics. If you want to continue on this, some statistics would be really great (like how many times I've died in this level and so on...). Good job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I really graphics and the game is fun. I think movement are too fast and player is hard to move.
Did you know that my game have 20 levels to beat in 10 seconds each, too?

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Live review available at: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831116

Antidote says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Quite nice and fast paced ^^ Loved the music.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very very enjoyable, smooth, as discussed in the stream the random order of levels is unexpected sometimes. Replayability is awesome because you just keep playing because you want to win. Some levels were really frustrating (but in a good way!) in the end I gave up after finishing 12 levels in a row.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really really really really really really really tough! Kudos if you even managed to get to the end without cheating yourself! Very unforgiving game.

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Total rage-inducing gameplay. Cool game!

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

NIce little platformer! Although, the variance in level difficulty is a bit too much for me. I just don't have it in me to fail the same level 20 times on 20 different runs at different stages. :s

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very nice. The style and graphics were excellent. Theme was solid too.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Not a big replay value, but: smooth gameplay, stylish retro pixels and very accompanying music.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Pretty fun little game. With a bit of polish I could see this being on Steam or Android devices.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nicely done!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Love the pixel art!
The fast jump speed makes the controls feel a little unnaturally fast, but that fits well with the pace of the game anyway.
Awesome work!

01010111 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I forgot to rate, but I played for a bit last night after seeing it played on Indie Impressions - I really love what you're doing with the game, I hope you expand on it, polish it up, and put it out there as a full game :) Great work!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:09am

Loved it.
All you need is more levels.

Infin8 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Talk about an abrupt death! I like how the randomizing of levels make for a very interesting experience, where one could master all the levels, yet its still fresh along the way. Love the cute sprite art!

bitowl says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:41pm

controls feel good, but I would rather like to see the levels sorted by difficulty rather than having them randomly

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Would be nice to have a way to look up/downwards to see near traps. Amazing work. Congrats.

BrothersT says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:13pm

It's basically a memory game. Learn the layout of the puzzles and you win. It's not a bad idea it's just not an interesting challenge. Certain levels will spawn you while you are still moving too, meaning you fall into the lava before you've even realized what's happening. You might want to tweak the controls to be a bit more forgiving to the player when running and jumping at the edge of a platform. We can't help having a limited reaction time so it's good practice to allow a split second for jumping otherwise it will seem like the game is not keeping up with your movements (ironically). It's a very well polished game though. Nothing about it seemed unfinished. Well done, and good luck! :)

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting game, especially enjoyed the fast paced control. Although the levels are not randomly created, it still feel very rogue-like-ish. Very good job sir!

Levynski says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:00pm

which engine used?

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:16pm

@Levynski

The "engine" was developed during the 30 hours. I've only used the libgdx framework and a few helper classes for texture stuff, playing music etc. I've linked the source if you want to have an in-depth look on how i did this :)

gmaker says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:09am

awesome art! cool game! ) but very hard jumping for me, very strong gravity imho.. =) great job!

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:18pm

My first impressions on your game :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3g8nCGIa2ok

mollymus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Smooth gameplay! Were the levels randomly generated? I felt like sometimes I didn't have enough time to complete the levels even though I felt like I played it "perfect" (didn't get hit by anything etc). Maybe I just wasn't fast enough though, hard to say when I didn't get to play the same level many times in a row:p

As a reply to your comment on our game, I'll talk to my team about sharing the source code to our game! If we decide to, we will be notifying people via our website and our twitter account!:) Thanks, and good luck in the future!:)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]