August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Decim Dungeons

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the Bunderwump, the OCD dungeon master, in his efforts to make every dungeoneer reach the exit in exactly 10 seconds.

NOTE: On some of the puzzles you can place the same item more than once.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#94Theme3.76
#97Innovation3.76
#330Audio2.94
#582Humor2.19
#610Overall3.00
#680Mood2.57
#737Fun2.70
#789Graphics2.50

Comments

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

I thought that was nice little puzzle game. I found it a little confusing at first what everything did but I guess that could be said for any game. After getting the hang of it, I found the puzzles pretty straight-forward.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Strange idea but I really like it but at first it was a little confusing

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I like how most of these themes are "in at least 10 seconds"... you go for "EXACTLY 10 seconds". Now /that's/ using the theme!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Pretty tricky. However, interesting mechanic. It's a little difficult planning how the duration will be affected. Nice, simple interface is good.

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Interesting idea for a puzzler, although the Q and W items seemed a bit similar in that you just have to time them right to stall the dungeoneer for a second. I'd definitely play a few more levels with a bit more complexity in.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Haha, a nice idea, a much better use of the theme than some other entries.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Liked the idea but most of the levels were pretty easy. Liked the graphics and audio a lot though :)
Good entry!

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

First time I've seen a game like this! very nice!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Pretty unique concept and good execution. I do think it has lots of room for expanding upon it, considering most levels are pretty easy.

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Nice puzzle game! Pretty tough if you don't know what the items do to begin with, but relatively straight-forward after that. I like the simple pixel art, as well!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

hahaha neat concept! I almost went with an OCD stopwatch game but I couldn't think of any way to fill the idea out. You've done a great job though :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:39am

I love the use of theme, the fact that you have to get him there in a total of 10 seconds, not over, not under is pretty cool. Im not sure exactly how to do this but I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I liked the twist on the classical turn based, get to the goal by placing objects type of game, that was interesting. The controls would be better if the blocks could be chosen with the number keys and that spacebar would start the game and R would reset.

Jorqell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The base mechanic is quite interesting, you could easily make a larger game out of this.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The idea is great, and the sound is spectacular, but it has a few frustrations, like not being able to see how many of a block you have, and not having any timing indicators.

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Clever idea, but I hate how space clears everything I did instead of just resetting.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:05pm

It was hard to solve at first but then it got quite good! :D

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Good use of the theme, confuse at first, but I was able to complete first level after several tries ! Liked it !

Sheep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Returning an item would be nice, instead of resetting the whole level. But besides that you made a very good game. But I think there could be more interesting obstacles.

zn01wr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Really good puzzle! Seeing the number of items would be great, but good job for just 48 hours.

netgrind says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

I get that the theme is ten seconds, but it just feels so slow waiting for him to complete your level. Also it was confusing what each new item did.

shard123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Really cool and unique! Nice work!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Will post video review later.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:46pm

The core mechanic here is interesting and has a lot of potential. The levels are a bit on the easy side, and it would help with an indicator of how many times you can use each item. I also got a feeling that I didn't always finish them "the right way".

Would be interesting to see where you can take this. Nicely done, and great take on the theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]