August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Journey to the Edge of Time

by Daisuke909 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For my entry in the 27th Ludum Dare, I give you a slightly sarcastic action adventure game with an unorthodox and ultimately inconsequential take on the theme. Rather than experiencing 10 seconds playing out, the game takes place on the edge of time, where the last 10 seconds of the universe make up the different sections of the world.

*Addressing the most common complaint (so no more people have to complain about it)*
Yeah, I know my use of the theme was a stretch. It was a way better idea on paper, trust me. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Humor3.13
#550Fun2.93
#706Audio2.25
#726Mood2.50
#732Overall2.89
#900Graphics2.30
#1011Innovation2.26
#1092Theme2.33
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

The theme was rather stretched with a questionable interpretation of "10 seconds" and some music would have improved this game

Tinco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I had fun :)

Spit Tex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This actually is the first game to make me laugh,thank you

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I like the idea! Also, fun game to play!

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

That is one twisted way of interpreting the theme, but the game was fun (I like killing things with fire, t always feels good). I played through it without changing my spell, because I did not thought of using the mouse instead of the keyboard. But playing it this way showed how much the fire spell is cheated. Maybe you could balance it by increasing its mana cost or decreasing its damage output ?
Also, it seems like it was fixed, but I got this game as an installer, which contained lots of unwanted "softwares" that still got installed on my PC even thoguh I refused them. Could you explain why you upload it in this form ?

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Great game! I really loved the humour and sarcasm in the dialogue, and I'm a huge fan of these types of games :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I don't understand how the boss work. I tried slashing it until I died and that was not a good idea.

The tree collision is very annoying, when moving close to them from the top I get stuck a lot.

Liked the humor in the game.

The theme might have been stretched a bit too far.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:10am

Nice. I like how you incorporated the rpg elements into your mechanics. It's a little buggy, but good job.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Controls were a bit fiddly and the take on the theme was very stretched.

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

Controls could have been tighter, but I definitely like the games that push the theme to its limits. Nice work.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really good idea, and nice use of the theme. For some reason Fraps wouldnt record it, so I couldnt add it to my compilation video of LD27 games :/ .... sorry

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Got to the final boss but there was no feedback on whether or not my attacks were doing anything. I'm assuming they weren't, because after a minute or two of healing/hitting, I eventually died

foumart says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This was fun! Thank you. Gotta try again for the boss..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]