August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Sextillion Zeptoseconds

by Oxydam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have Ten Sextillion Zeptoseconds to solve each level. It is quite enough.

Use the arrow keys or WASD/ZQSD to move.

Can you beat the 28 level ?
If you overpass ten sextillion zeptoseconds to finish a level, back to level one.
Post your highscore in the description.

Tools :
Conctruct 2 Free Edition
Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0

Music by the awesome Eldaryze.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#331Fun3.21
#346Humor2.64
#440Theme3.29
#566Audio2.53
#676Overall2.95
#683Innovation2.79
#819Mood2.39
#965Graphics2.17

Comments

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

Bad controls! The square got stuck too many times to be fun. Expected different kinds of gameplay, got one. Not fun!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Terrific minimalist use of the concept. Simple but fun!

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

I don't know what xhunterko is talking about. I liked this game a lot and was impressed with the smooth collisions. Also impressed by how you varied the gameplay so much while using the same map every time. The upside down levels always got me :)

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

Cool idea reusing the same space with different control schemes. I felt like at some point WASD stopped working and I had to switch to the arrow keys. Was that intentional? Nice touch when it zoomed in tight and I had to use my memory to reach the goal.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57am

I was using WASD the first time and it crapped out when it got to the platforming part. Could have had the level layout changing or something.

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

The WASD problem is a bug and not a feature :D
I will try to fix it.
Thanks.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Simple approach of the theme, fun game but in the level 3 the controls change from WASD to the keys o_O

jerombd says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

Very fun! Highscore: 7...

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53am

The WASD controls are now fixed on all versions.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I keep getting stuck on corners that prevents me from advancing.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

I love this. So simple but so diverse. Fun. one of my favorites on the compo so far!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Wow, when I first played I was thinking, "Bah, just another half-baked entry," but then the mechanics started changing in interesting ways. Not much in terms of graphics or music, but I can see the effort through the very mechanics of the game, good job. :)

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

It's a good technique for avoiding level design! Nice idea anyway. Graphics too are extremely simple but look good (that's the beauty of minimalism). The only annoying bit was that the movement sometimes wasn't very "friendly" in a way. The square got "stuck" too often near edges (not really stuck, but it stopped moving where you would think it wouldn't).

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Good job, got to level 21. Very addictive.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I have the same problem as xhunterko, I can't even pass level 1 because the square is stuck all the time.
It seems that you're doing the following: if the next move makes me hit a wall, then do not move at all. But it means that on a slow computer we can get stuck much more easily because the square will stop well before the wall.
Please fix, I want to play it.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

FYI, you are supposed to include the source code (and to make the entire game yourself, including the music). I'd like to check the source and try to correct the collision problems. I'd love it if you correct this in a post-compo version :)

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I'll upload the source. But what is the collision problem ?

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Start over from the beginning??? OMG... Nice game, though!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Oh man, you would think that Ten Sextillion Zeptoseconds would be enough, but it's really not! So hardcore! Really fun too, and the mechanic is well-explored.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I love the idea of using the same level and mixing up the mechanics each time, but having to restart from the beginning of the game because I lost time trying to figure out the gimmick of each new level was frustrating. The collisions and controls were fine for me.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Not really original but this game is quite awesome, the audio is good too.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

The collision problem is that the square sometimes stops near a wall, even though it doesn't actually touch any wall, and you have to try the other directions in order to continue moving. It seems it gets worse with a lower framerate.
The thing is, I think, as Latcarf said, that you check if there will be a collision with a wall, and if there is, you do not apply the movement at all, where as you should correct it (place the square against the wall). But I know this might be more difficult to handle that it sounds.

Anyway, I got to level 21. The variety of mechanics used with a single level is great, I need to finish this game! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Really nice idea, however the controls are frustrating sometimes!

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

This was great, even though it was already done many time. (ouside of Ludum Dare)
And my highscore was... 7

Zathalos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

I thought this game was too simple but then it got interesting. The platforming ones always messed me up. Good job.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:50am

Clever game. I was liking the lofi nature, and the music and the changing mechanics every level....then you committed the cardinal sin of game design :) You flipped my controls. Please, never ever ever do that in a game :) Good stuff for 48 hrs.

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:04am

I like the minimalist art and the simple gameplay. Nice job!

Sascha says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Augh! Such a great concept and game, but having to restart and replay from the beginning was really infuriating!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:46am

LOL! That was really fun xD ... It has full of surprises :D
High score: 13

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]