August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fragment

by lesterpig - Jam Entry

"You are a young adventurer, walking on a vast jungle, and suddenly you see..."
A short game about time, space and ... checkpoints.

Tips :
Listen to the MUSIC ! 10 seconds... EVERYWHERE !
And be very, very, very patient ;) It's not a classic platform game hehe.
____________________

Instructions :
Download the game and ... double click on Fragment.jar ;)

>> MAC USERS, READ THIS PLEASE ! <<
If the game doesn't launch correctly, you can use console to play : "java -jar fragment6.jar"
(thanks to donfabio !)


Controls :
> Space for actions
> Left/Right arrows to move
> Up arrow to jump / double jump
> M to (un)mute music

____________________

Team :

Yukiren - Graphics (http://yukiren.deviantart.com/)
Lesterpig - Code & Sounds (@lesterpig)

Game made with LibGdx engine (display). You'll need Java to play.
Collisions and game system programmed during the week-end.

License : http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/
____________________


Thank you for playing ! <3
We will appreciate every feedback ;)

Tags : java jar web libgdx desktop windows mac linux 2d

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#150Theme(Jam)3.41
#150Audio(Jam)3.26
#224Innovation(Jam)3.13
#229Graphics(Jam)3.51
#282Mood(Jam)2.95
#318Fun(Jam)2.87
#318Humor(Jam)2.31
#325Overall(Jam)3.04

Comments

drawm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Pretty hard but super fun, but id like to have a countdown to know when the wolrd will change :) nice job

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Does not work on Mac. This needs Java 6 on Mac because of the JAWT_GetAWT problem, but it immediately crashes in Java 6 with an UnsupportedClassVersionError...
Maybe you should try to compile it with JDK 6 for Mac users?

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/lesterpig/ld27/DesktopStarter : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

nice, but needs a countdown as timing is crucial.

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Fun game, but wish the enemies would spawn in the same spot they were in the other dimension.

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Could do with a warning a bit before the world changes. Most times it would change and there was literally nothing I could do but die. Saying that, has the potential to be very fun. Great graphics and great approach to the theme.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Fun but at times the platforming became almost impossible, wish there was a visible timer that showed when the world was about to change.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This game had very nice graphics and sound. I really like the game-play idea too.

I occasionally had some strange problems with the physics that made the game a little harder than it had to be. (Loosing double jump on moving platforms and loosing all horizontal speed when touching a platform.)

Cool game, good work!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Thank you for your feedback !
I've just added a Java6 compilet version.

Don't forget : music is very important in this game... It indicates when the world is changing ! :)

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Really needs some representation of when the transitions will happen. It's too frustrating without.

guardiancs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Was fun , but two things are getting annoying :

I don't know when the worlds will switch
When the world switch, i get hit by a ennemi immediately

Nice work tough !

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice Game, we've got kinda same approach of the theme :).

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10pm

This is a pretty nice concept, and I really enjoyed the artistic direction that you took. However, since the moving platforms weren't synced to the 10 second transition, I would sometimes have to wait several transitions just to be able to make a jump, which I thought was pretty frustrating. Otherwise, nice job!

senseidav says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

After at end uptaded my java: COngratulations lesterpig. Don´t listen to People without sense of rythim, you can see the change of time perfectly with the drums and charles.

One other thing its to play to game until the last, and carry to the temporal creature 9 of 10 cristals... That is frustating.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21am

Clever! The first big chasm to cross is a bit too tricky for a first level, especially when you fail that last jump and have to redo it again and again - landing on platforms above you seem to fail some times, you lose momentum as you hit them. The background artwork is beautiful, and good move to sync the music beats :) Good work!

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice idea and graphics, but the gameplay is sometimes very unfair...

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03am

Pretty interesting game, good job!

donfabio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06am

Very nice game.
Just one technical issue: The Java 6 Mac version exits instantly when launched. Launching via Terminal with the command "java -jar fragment6.jar" worked for me though.
Hope that helps people with the same issue. :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

The universe you created is wonderful, and the changing between both world is a nice idea which gives great possibilities for a platformer.
Music and graphics are well combined.

But I didn't went until the end, because of some troubles I had with desynch platforms between both world (after the 2nd crystal).

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Maybe a second or so of immunity after the switch would go a long way to making this more playable. Just in my opinion.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Sweet idea ! :)

Thank you for your feedbacks ;)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Fun and interesting!

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice game. :)
Btw, was the main character based of on Sora (from Kingdom Hearts)? xD And that other character is definitely a Moggle, kupo!

It would be nice if that moggle at the end would teleport you to the beginning, if you hadn't found every fragment (I missed only one... >_<).

I couldn't really figure out the relationship between music and the 10 secs (I mean, it wasn't obvious like changing the style and I failed the count the beats and relate it). I was able to notice the switch, though, using the bg flash...
Also, there are some minor physics bugs. If you hit a wall/platform when on the air, you lose control over your movement. And you wouldn't stick to those vertical platforms, when moving downward, which sometimes made you unable to double jump.

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice use of 10 seconds and great art :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Interesting idea, loved the use of the theme and the graphics! I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

lesterpig says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

Oh 9/10 fragments, GFM ? Good work, it's a very hard game :P
Jupiter_Hadley thanks for it ! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

These moving platforms are really frustrating :-/ Also the moving/control isn't "fluent". Otherwise the interpretation of the theme is good.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Nice graphics and good game but I really need to have some warning when the world is going to change :)

mollymus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Like many others, I too would've liked a countdown so that I could prepare for the changes better! Anyway, good job!:)

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

Pretty nice game! music was pretty good too. Although, countdown would've been nice.

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Nice idea, continue this work...

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Heh, this was very frustrating. Sometimes there is no way to jump over the first two platforms and player dies in the middle... :|

Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:44am

Very nice game and concept. And very challenging, and very fun. The graphics are good and the universes interesting.

Getting the hang of the switch between words (even with the music) was tricky but not impossible, but more visual hints would still be great.

Still, very good work :)
(Meri from GSM Productions)

Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Moving platforms' period should always be a multiple or quotient of 10s. Then they'd always be in one of x possible positions when the dimensions swap. Right now it's a bit chaotic, and can become a test of patience more than anything when they get out of sync. (Looking at you, platforms after the 2nd crystal.)

Annoyances aside, it's a fun game. Pretty good atmosphere.

char68 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:52pm

It was a bit difficult to jump sometimes; timing had to be critical but sometimes it felt like I only had a single jump for transitions between states. The graphics and sound were great though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]