August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Reassessment

by tacograveyard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The station is under attack.
Save all the civilians before the escape pod jettisons.
You have 10 seconds.

Note: THIS GAME IS VERY HARD! If you save 2-3 civilians you should be proud. Post your score below. BRAG ABOUT HOW AWESOME YOU ARE! If you save everyone, post your time paused.

Instructions:

Press SPACE to pause. You will need it.
Click robots to select them. Click again to direct them.
Press R to restart

Civilian: They will randomly run about the level. You cannot control them.

Doorbot: Move these to block aliens. They will also block civilians. Blocked units will seek a new path.

Mapbot: Civilians entering a room occupied by a mapbot will immediately head towards the escape pod. BONUS: If your escape pod gets occupied you can senc in a mapbot to clean them out. It will self destruct and kill EVERYTHING in the room.

Alien : DO NOT let these board the escape pod. They will also kill your civilians.

Tips & Tricks aka Strategy Guide:

Since this game is a bit difficult, I thought I would provide a few tips. If you want to figure them out on your own then don't read this.

- Place doorbots in doorways to most effectively block off aliens.
- Mapbots only guide players when they are not moving. They will turn a room green when they do this.
- Pause immediately.
- If an alien gets in your escape pod, send a map bot in. He will kill everything inside.
- Bot, civilian, alien, and door locations are randomly set each match.
- There is always a doorbot in the bottom right corner. Use her wisely.
- An alien breaks through every second.

Tools:

Language: AS3
Framework: Flixel
Editor: Sublime Text 2
SFX: BFXR, Audacity
Art: Pyxel Edit
Source Control: git
Music: Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Audio3.38
#178Innovation3.56
#201Theme3.56
#220Mood3.24
#336Graphics3.28
#392Overall3.22
#503Humor2.30
#677Fun2.78
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47am

Bit hard for me, but I like it overall! Judging would be hard though.

Radnen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Way too hard! Nice atmosphere and music though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44am

Nice work with the voice!

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Perhaps a bit difficult -- it was hard to understand how I should be using the door blocks and director blocks effectively.

But, for a 48-hour competition, I thought the audio and graphics were top notch.

Overall, great job!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I really like the concept, but it was a bit tough for me. Great work though, the graphics are really cool!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Kind of hard to figure out what's going on at the beginning, but I like the style.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I have to agree with the other comments - this game was pretty tough. But in spite of the difficulty, this has easily been my favorite take on the theme so far. The pause mechanic giving you time to think mixed with the incredibly speed during the game itself is a cool contrast.

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Hey folks, thanks for the comments! I agree that the game is a bit hard. Don't expect to win, just try to save as many civilians as possible. I posted some hints and tips for anyone interested in a strategy guide.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Hard game, but very nice concept!

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00am

I love games with tiny things running around :) I managed to save 4 of the civs. "At least pretend to try" :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02am

Very well made, but extremely difficult, even when you've got a decent idea what's going on. There's lots to like about it though, the design and mechanics work well and it's all got a nice degree of polish to it. Cool stuff.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice concept. A few less aliens would have been great. I did not manage to save a single civilian :( Oh and great music!

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Good game idea, but I don't like how the red aliens are randomly appearing, especially close to the exit.

manofdoom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56am

Super hard but still pretty enjoyable.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:00am

Hard. Decent though! With some balancing it could be amazing

Komradus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wow that was really hard, solid work.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

That was intense. It was a pretty hard game (couldn't get those aliens out of the escape pod), but I like the general idea and speed of it.

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:15am

Wow, this was frantic. I managed to save 3 civilians in the end. I like the limits and onthogonality of the units (mapbot and doorbot). Quite a bit of fun. It takes a bit of easing into it, and I feel like I may have gotten very lucky with my randomly generated layout.

Split82 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Great game. It took me a while to understand how to play it, but at the end I managed to save 4 civilians :)

PaulSB says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I really wanted to like this as I can just about see what it's trying to do but man... I feel like that dog at a computer ("I have no idea what I'm doing").

Coherent aesthetic, good sense of tension but I just found it incredibly difficult to achieve anything meaningful. Nice idea tho.

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Solid and finished looking game. Quite complex and interesting mechanics. I played it a number of times but couldn't quite get the hang of it though. But this could be great with some easier levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]