August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bmin

by Blanky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Be Miner.

Not working, I had an assignment to complete during the weekend :(

The UI needed to be built and the ability to interact.

The concept: You are a miner, in front of you is a cave, you go in cave and start to mine, only with your hands. After you get dragged out of the mine by the cave guard, you learn that it contains poisonous gasses, you can only be in their for 10 seconds and will have to wait for 10 more to enter.
Also, wile trying to pry of iron of some ore with your hands, you learned that you need to find a blacksmith.
There is one at the cave, great, you have just enough to buy a ... twig? Also, you see other items available, but you will need to to some mining to get to them, there is a 'New World' item, looks intriguing, you have to get it. you go in and farm some iron with your twig (you will probably have noticed, if the game worked, that you cannot mine some mines.) You upgrade your item's, you are tempted to by the chicken leg, it has so much power compared to the other items, you buy it and try it out: "You on a rock and munch on your chicken leg." ... great... You can exchange the chicken leg for a twig, great, start over.

Game Technologies used:
C++


Controls:
Move with mouse and WASD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1155Graphics1.67
#1203Overall1.67
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

"Program can't start because MSVCP100D.dll is missing" :(

This one looked good

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Cant open it :(

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

dito... :(

Blanky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

Thanks for the info. I must have deployed the debug version. I will deploy the release version tonight.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Well.. at leats it's interesting. I like how you can move the camera ;)

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:06am

Sorry can not run the game looks interesting though

Feysoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38am

cannot run!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

I can't run it either.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Boo MSVCP100D.dll

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Well the idea is cool, sad that u didn't finish bro D: but nice try (:

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Sounds like a neat idea, shame you didn't finish.

On another note, I think that quick world changing which is in the game could be used for a very cool game mechanic.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

it sounds good by the description, too bad you couldn't finish it

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Like the idea. Perhaps you could work on it as your own project? This idea has potential.

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:40pm

hm. another minecraft?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]