August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RELAY

by Homletmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keep one step ahead of the clock in this time trial platformer - the level switches on and off every ten seconds.

Tools used:
- SDK: Flex (Actionscript 3)
- IDE: FlashDevelop
- Game Framework: Flashpunk
- Graphics: GIMP
- Level editing: OGMO editor
- Sound: bfxr + freac
- Music: Ableton Live
- Timelapse: Chronolapse
- Version control: GIT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#58Audio3.62
#70Overall3.76
#94Fun3.59
#179Graphics3.61
#199Mood3.28
#243Theme3.50
#343Innovation3.27
#402Humor2.53

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

Very nice. Sometimes waiting around for the changes felt a little slow. Stylish graphics! Nice detail. Great minimalistic music.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Fun to play. :) But I quit at the level where you have to do those 3 huuge jumps. Never managed to get the 3rd. D:

Homletmoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Ha, don't worry, that was the last level. Glad you liked it.

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

a solid entry and very challenging

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27am

I really enjoyed this, the art was great, cool ideas for puzzles, nice music and audio - great job!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:45am

I liked very much the graphics and music, very good polishing. got just a little frustrated when I had to jump and there was something blocking me right on top of me so I could not ascend.. apart from that I really liked it though

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Standard mechanics made very well - thank you for the game had a splendid long laugh playing it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Awesome music and nice gameplay and graphics :D

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50pm

cool game! I love how the style of the graphics and music complement each other, and the level exit effect looks cool as hell! It would be nice if the post-compo version controlled the power with something else besides waiting though :)

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Cool game and idea. The waiting felt slow sometimes but maybe I'm just impatient!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Wow! Nicely polished game and great use of the theme. Graphics and music fit perfectly. Sometimes having to wait for 10 seconds over and over again can be frustrating. But I guess that makes the game even more addictive.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Well polished game. Just one small nitpick: I was hoping that there'd be more time-related puzzles and less standing and waiting for the ten seconds to end.

Photon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Good stuff, though I gave up on the level with the long jump. Controls feel a touch sticky/laggy, I must say. Regardless, it's a pretty nice puzzle platformer you have going. Dug the retro pixel graphics too. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Awesome. I really enjoyed the style. The main character looks like someone from a Gary Larson comic.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

I like that you used Matt Thorson's Ogmo Editor haha. Oh and your game was also really neat ;)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

Very stylish and nice presentation. I have to agree that waiting for things to turn on/off was slow.

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I just love this game! my highest rated game at the moment!
congratulations!

everblind says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:07am

Good mechanics!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:24am

Very neat mechanics! The need to use the 10 seconds switch to progress is really clever. Everything is very well polished, including graphics, music/sound and game play!
I like this game a lot! =)

bitowl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:04am

When I managed to find out, how it works, it was really fun. As well I think the music fits well. Just the third level was unproportional hard for me.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:23pm

The character is great! He depicts the simplicity of the whole game. I also liked the music and the level transition effect. The timer feels a bit too long, 10 seconds waiting for the door to open can make a casual player leave the game. I was switching tabs to look for more games in those 10 seconds.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Excellent, but the 10 second transition time seemed a bit long on some levels.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:15am

Cool platformer! love the zoom-in at the end. Music fits really well too.

I had some trouble in the jump-upward-segment. The missing headspace made jumping reaaaally tricky

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]