August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rules X

by hungyg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rules X, the new offline multiplayer craze!

Featuring procedurally generated maps, the fun is literally endless! Challenge the closest human being you can find around you, and dive straight into the fun! (God, I'm really tired....)
Pressing and holding both jump buttons simultaneously starts the game without having to move a hand to the mouse and back. Instant fun!

Tested in: Chrome*, Firefox, Opera and IE

Intresting fact: Parts of the game concept and the title came from one of my previos games, Rules: http://mgabor.hu/rules

*Chrome users! If the audio stutters, try disabling sound effects. Chrome has issues playing more than one audio file at once.

GLHF!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#253Fun3.32
#338Audio2.93
#363Humor2.62
#435Overall3.17
#670Mood2.58
#683Innovation2.79
#778Graphics2.54
#828Theme2.85

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

Haha. :) I had fun! Actually is quite fun with a friend :p

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

Didn't have someone to play this with, but this is great. The graphics seem simple but those little touches like the splats and the kill count make it so much better. Random levels and exciting music. Great job!

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

It's kind of like a demake of Towerfall. Pretty cool. Procedurally generating levels doesn't seem to have much balance to it, which can be a problem.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great game! I love the graphics and the audio!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46am

Fun little game, that easily gets competitive. I like that the maps are randomly created, adds a little more strategy to the game, rather than finding one sure fire way to win every time :) - The way the theme was used doesn't work well for me though. I get the 10 seconds because of the theme, but it stops the fun too soon. I did like the overtime part though, so I guess an intense battle can last a while :P
All in all, a fun game.

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44pm

The pixel splats were a nice touch.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27am

"State of The Art Offline Multiplayer Technology" <- brilliant line :)

Music and gameplay is cool too. I like the "cube-splatter" :)

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

This pixel explosion blood is awesome XD

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

Good music and nice idea for a multiplayer

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Simple game, nice not complicated graphics :) Overall not bad!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

This game is really fun and addictive! Even though I kept losing against my partner :( Good job on the procedurally generated levels! The platforms are generated a bit high though. And it would be nice if the levels were a bit more complex, to encourage more jumping.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice idea, 2-players games are rare at ludum dare.

SamC says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Fun, nice graphics

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]