August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Self Destruct

by Octopuns - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Self-Destruct is a puzzle-platformer in which 6 "people" must work together to stop their building from self-destructing.

The catch? The terminal that must be used to prevent the self-destruction is inside an irradiated chamber that each person can only survive in for 10 seconds.



All game content was created by me in the 48 hours using Unity3D, Adobe Flash CS4 and 2dToolkit by Unikron.

Music/Sounds created using a content generator.

Edit: Bug with tiny guy jumping height made some levels impossible. Increased height.


You can follow me on twitter if you'd like: https://twitter.com/Octopuns or email me at octopuns@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#34Theme4.01
#82Fun3.63
#103Overall3.65
#107Humor3.36
#126Innovation3.67
#199Mood3.28
#284Graphics3.36
#318Audio2.96

Comments

Khopa says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:22pm

It's a great game. Very good idea and nice art.

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Awesome game :D
Really good idea ^^ and one of my fav games of the compo :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Love it :D Especially like how they turn into skeletons, hehe. Really great idea for a puzzle game and great use of the 'ten second' theme.

ibilon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

I'm having trouble playing on an azerty keyboard, I'll see if I can find a way to make it temporarily qwerty (linux).

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Great concept. Loved the characters. Music fit it well and I had fun playing it. :)

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

Really nice, the graphics are cute and the writing is actually pretty funny. The gameplay is really clever, a great puzzle. However I got stuck at once point because it seemed the scientist guy couldn't jump high enough to get to the terminal... (or I messed up the puzzle and I am dumb!)

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

One of the best games so far. The elevator got stuck, after big yellow dicided to die in it

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

Interesting idea. Slightly short (eg. jump guy seems useless) but that's expected of after only two days. Two things I would have liked would be:
1) Not having to restart before the tutorial every time I press R
2) The ability for people to return to the main room and have their timers frozen so they can still be saved haha.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

Finally a reason that the game lasts ten seconds instead of "game over".

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

Great fun this! Well done! What a fun idea. :)

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

good polish, nice ideas, I love these little guys.
We are guided through the game, difficulty, which often lacks in LD contest.
Kudos !

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

This is an awesome game. I beat all the levels. If you decided to expand this game, I will play it for sure. I was entertained all the way through- And I loved that you could move the camera ahead, so that you can plan your strategy. Very nice work!!

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Wauw nice game!

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

Awesome Game, it fits the theme very well. Nice Idea and well implemented, very innovative :)

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

First, THANK YOU FOR NOT CALLING THE LINUX BUILD LINUX.TAR.GZ!

Secondly, wow, this is amazing! It's a fantastic game with very interesting gameplay as well as catchy music and nice graphics!

I think that you could easily sell this game if you added even more levels (which, for a 48hr compo, has a lot of levels)!

javifugitivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Great Game, I am enjoying it ;-)

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Yeah, like Terrabyte said, it's a cool concept that you could deepen.
Cool graphics and animations, very polished !

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice entry, loved the unique link to the theme. The art was definitely awesome, and it was fun to play! The only annoying part was the restart key going back to before the level intro, but apart from that I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice game, I've finished it! And I love it... Cute characters there :3

gritfish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Fantastic concept, well executed.
Best I've played so far.
I'll definitely come back to it.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Fantastic take on the theme. Catchy music

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very creative idea! It was almost a bit sad to watch these nice characters run into their death :)
The controls of the large jumpy guy are a bit frustrating. I had to restart some levels over and over again, as I was not able to get the wall jump working.
But all in all a great game!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Really great concept! I love it.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

That was cool, nice use of the theme, really enjoyed that

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Really interesting puzzle game. Probably asked for a lot of work!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Whoa, great concept and execution. Charismatic characters, fun gameplay, and the music fits well.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Fun puzzler, the different colored characters and the script liven things up.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Dude, this game is so awesome. Immediately I was laughing. And the little statements got me every time, "Gary spilled the coffee, the office is about to explode".

The characters are so hilarious as well, and well designed. It's immediately obvious who does which, and the hovering over them to see what they do? Great way of showing the player how to play.

And I was really really enjoying it, but it looks like your elevator's bugged. I tried it 3 times and couldn't get it to go any time. But, whatever, we all get annoying bugs like that from time to time, it's still a 5* game. Nice one man.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very good!

A good fit to the theme! Could be a contender for #1

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Awww man. I haven't had anyone else mention the bugged elevator. :( I'll check it out.

Also, for anyone else that runs into bugs. If you're playing the web or windows build, P will skip levels. Might be useful if you're enjoying the game but can't pass a certain section.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

That was really cool. An effective puzzle platformer. Reminds me a bit of The Lost Vikings, with the characters each having their own unique ability. Graphics are minimalist but they work and the music is catchy.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Great game! It's funny and it fits the theme ;)

Volute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Great concept !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

good job

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Really fun game. Undoubtedly one of the best uses of this theme I've seen so far.

The only bad thing was that the music wasn't very good.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Neat idea, cute art.

pragmascript says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53pm

nice game :-)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

Was a nice concept, one i've seen used before but not in this way, the terminal text was funny and the game played well. Nice one.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25am

Dude, awesome game! Love the concept. The art and audio were good, and the terminal humor was great. One of the better games I've played. I kept falling through the elevator on level 4 in the web version and couldn't complete the level. Good job overall!

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58pm

haha i love the animations/chara design. It really gives a good mood to the game.
Great concept and level design overall :D

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice job! Quite polished and some nice little touches (like how you can switch guys before you actually walk out the door)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Fun game, good idea and art :D

triplefox says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Funny how almost every level(except the last) could be solved with no loss of life, if only they had the foresight to all enter at the same time.

Danvil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice game. I love the different roles!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I like the role idea & the characters are fairly comedic!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice game! Feels really polished and slick. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]