August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Demolition by Suese

by Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Once the nuke is activated, you only have 10 SECONDS TO LIVE.

Survive an onslaught of baddies and demolish the reactor.

Keys
----
WASD - Accelerate & Turn
ENTER - Fire
SPACE - Drop tool.


Hint: Use the radar in the bottom right.

Features
--

- Infinite world, get lost in space!
- Stylish destructable terrain.
- Car-chase style physics for extra speed and excitement
- 3 types of enemies.
- In-game instructions / tutorial.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#101Graphics3.87
#120Overall3.61
#150Audio3.30
#200Fun3.40
#276Mood3.12
#391Innovation3.19
#550Humor2.24
#1085Theme2.36

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

Excellent graphics, and I like the destructible terrain. The controls disagree with me, though, and I resent how many shots it takes to kill even the simple drone-ish enemies.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

@madk, Try using the Blaster instead.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Cool!

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really slickly done. Great graphics, fun gameplay. Great job.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

Great fun. I enjoyed balancing my use of each tool (once I learned not to drop one too far from home). How far do you have to get away from the reactor? I thought I got pretty far, but not far enough apparently. Nice graphics.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

@HeyChinaski - Get back to the vortex.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Really liking the graphical work on this one. Indeed it's a slick job all round. Looks and sounds great and plays nicely with it. Very cool.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Love the look of the game, I'm terrible at these types of games but was a lot of fun. Great submission

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Audio and graphics were awesome, got annoyed at myself for leaving the tools so far away! xD
Great entry :)

Caotico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I finished it! Great man, awesome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Fantastic graphics and cool sound and tunes too

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

A pretty nifty 2D shooter. Took me a few minutes to figure out what I was supposed to do, but once I did I found this game quite fun. I like that you can reverse while shooting, and shooting the terrain for resources is cool too. The resource management and inventory swapping was an interesting mechanic which made it more than just the shooting.

There was a minor bug in that the lives wasn't being reset when I played the second time, so I got negative lives. Not a big deal though. The pixel art is great and the sound is satisfying. Music was good but got repetitive after a while. Overall a most impressive job for 48 hours.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

It definitely took me a while to understand what it was I had to do, but once it did I found it pretty satisfying. The controls are somewhat hard to grasp, but I guess they're not game breaking or anything. Some serious amounts of polish too, both with the graphics and audio. Great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

I like the graphics and sound effects/background music, it makes the game really feel like all of a piece!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01am

Nice little thing! I like the sound-effects and music

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really nice job. I picked up the bomb and dropped it with space.. no timer started that I could see. was I supposed to use enter? I could not pick up the bomb again.

Otherwise pretty darn fun to fly around and shoot things.

Suese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53am

@Infernal - Press Enter when near the reactor to plant the bomb.

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38am

A slightly unusual mechanic with the dropping of tools and having to remember where they are, which is very cool.

Controls are a little unfortunate - turning shouldn't immediately shift the direction you're going (Asteroids style) and makes it difficult to aim precisely while also avoiding enemies.

Graphical style is great and the sounds are very fitting. Music is alright.
I feel like the theme doesn't play a major part in the game.

Overall, very cool game. 4/5

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

Besides the controls getting into my way every now and then I really enjoyed this. The destructable terrain is awesome and I like the overall retro feeling :)

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35am

great graphics, cool entry.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

Slick game with great graphics and an insane amount of polish. It's kinda like a modern Asteroids. There are a few issues though. It would be nice to have a indicator to where your equipment is in case I would lose it, and there seems to be a bug where I can't pick up items if they are on the reactor. Overall though I'd really like to see a postmortem.

-AlucardX60

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15am

loved the graphical style and the gameplay
great entry - keep up your amazing work!

7heSAMA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23am

Big problem: Turning without applying thrust should not change your direction of movement. Your momentum should remain the same. Movement like you have it doesn't feel natural for a space game.

Other than that, really good. Like others have said very polished and fun. Haven't finished it but I'll try to tomorrow.

Suese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31am

@7thSAMA - Feature, not a problem. I changed it to this logic on purpose. The asteroids logic wasn't 'fast'. It was slow and plodding, I wanted it to feel more like a car chase. Trust me, I made the right choice here.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54am

Really like the destructible terrain. I like the way you chose to do the physics on the ship.

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

Some additional thoughts:

- Reversing while turning makes the controls feel a lot more precise
- Also, the shooting feels really nice and weighty, which is rather very nice!

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59am

i liked it but got pretty boring and didn't know what to do exactly, might just be me

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26am

Managed to lose my other tools, an arrow pointing to them on the HUD would of been useful

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

Did not find the reactor. Where is it?

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45am

I had fun playing it without sound (I'm at work), and enjoyed it anyway. I will try this again at home

endlosnull says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

Cool graphics and fun gameplay. It takes a little getting used to but it controls okay. I just wish there was a minimap to remember where my base with all the different tools are and where the reactor is. Sometimes it's hard to manage killing enemies and mining asteroids to get the ammo and energy necessary to blow the reactor. Good game overall though.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10am

Controls are a but tricky, graphics are awesome and is genuinely fun to play.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13am

Interesting choice to have the GTA-like steering rather than the asteroids-like, though I do wonder how much sense that makes in space, it did make for quite an interesting and unique feel!

Once you I used to the controls and worked out what I was supposed to be doing it was quite enjoyable, the damage (taken and given) felt really well balanced which isn't always easy to get right!

Nice work

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great game, good grafix, nice sound, love it!
BUT, the controls were really confusing me, arrow keys would somehow made it easier i think. I also never managed to find the reactor :(
Good and solid game all round though.

fmBigBoss says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Pretty sweet game, really liked the destructible environments. Also thought the space background looked awesome. Once I got used to the controls it I found it to be really smooth.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Very impressive destructible terrain and collision detection! I had fun just exploring and shooting up things.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Seems quite good for the most part, but I couldn't find the reactor, and it's quite annoying having to search all this (very similar) space looking for something with no directions.

sebb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I liked the graphics and, gameplay makes sense, overall a pretty decent game :)

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Very nice! I sucked at the game, but it was well polished and all :)

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Destructible terrain. Awesome. I would really play [buy] full version of this.

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This quite fun, though I still haven't figured out how to set up the bomb, is it one of the three energy bars?

Suese says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:18am

@rezoner - Cool. I've been thinking of going pro :) What kind of features would you like to see in a 'full version' ?

Gazok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54am

Spent forever looking for the reactor, couldn't find it, died. The graphics are great, the music is good, and the destructible terrain is a really nice feature. I felt that by slamming into terrain it was too easy to lose almost all of your health.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:23am

As we discussed, I had some difficulty figuring out what I was supposed to be doing, but we sorted through it. THe annoying thing is that the game that I had imagine I was playing was awesome BUT ANYWAY!

I'm really impressed. The production values are incredible, and lead to some really tense moments where I was navigating corridors that I had made while trying to beat enemies and capture energy. I only really have 2 complaints:

1. I wish that it had Asteroids "turn in place" steering to help in those tight spaces, though I can see why you wouldn't do that.

2. In one of the universes that was generated for me I spent ages looking for the reactor and never found it. I died, and in the new universe the reactor was right next to the start location. It probably would have been good to put some restrictions on the generator to reduce the luck factor.


(oh, and eventually the music got really annoying but to be fair I did have to do 4 plays before I finished it)

Excellent work!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54am

Fuck, ludumdare timed out. Rewriting...
I really loved the graphics, destructible Worm-like terrain and how the ships handled and and felt!
However, my gripes:
I roamed over 10 minutes without ever finding the reactor and got sick of it; maybe atleast an image so we know what it looks like and don't go "maybe I missed it... maybe it's small..."
Also should explain that the bottom-right corner numbers are a sort of sector thingy, I figured it out, but most probably won't.
Good job!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36am

So far the game is awesome I love the destructible terrain!
I'm playing on a MAC though and the blaster (enter) doesn't work?

I'll hold off rating for now, drop me a line if it gets fixed!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41am

My bad I didn't realize you had to pick it up lol.

Awesome game. I love it!

The destructible terrain is worth 5 stars alone. I like how you have to manage between the 3 items.

cheers

Jorqell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32am

Brings back memories from the olden days. The destructible terrain is great.

Norgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice! Impressively polished and really fun.

I found myself doing most of the fighting by going close to an enemy spawner, then reversing and shooting them a they fly towards me, the controls do make the game seem fast, but that fighting in reverse all the time does feel a bit strange.

One small bug: if you plant the bomb and let it explode (because, say, you wanted to see some fireworks even if it's the last thing you do), when your next ship spawns the bomb is still "planted" and you can't pick it up again, so you can no longer win that game.

I flew off into deep space for a while to see if anything might be out there, but just got hopelessly lost. Allowing you to get hopelessly lost is one of my favourite features in a game, but having some other stuff out there would make this even cooler.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Good entry. Hard to play because of controls. Take a second chance later.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice graphics and sounds, but the game really wasn't something for me. Still, a very good entry! :)

sellsword says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:22am

You can get negative ships remaining :p

I think I would've like the controls more if they were more similar to asteroids. I also couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do.

mortus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:23am

Too bad it's just one level. I've wrote more about the game in your blog post if you

mortus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

Too bad it's just one level. I've wrote more about the game in your blog post if you care.

It also took me some time to figure out what to do and what's ammo and what's energy and why the hell can't I shoot. But when I did, it was quite cool game.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:40am

You managed to jam a lot of stuff in 48 hours - super impressive. I'd love to see more importance given to the destructible terrain if you work on this post-comp.

Suese says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:42am

@mrspeaker - Thanks. Could you give me an example?

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Awesome game! I like the great graphics and sound effects. I wonder how the game would feel, if all three weapons/tools where always attached and you could switch them with a key.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Fun and well done. The destructible terrain is awesome!

meszka says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Some very interesting ideas. The tool switching was cool but it was a bit annoying to have to go back where you left a tool to change to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]