August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beth & Maggie

by kebabskal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short action puzzler with narrative.

My hybris made me try to make a story and actually narrate it myself. In retrospect that might have been a mistake :)
But it was a nice experience. Had a lot of fun making this.
There is obviously a lot of ideas left unexplored, but 48h is 48h.

Hope you like it!
/Hannes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Graphics4.36
#32Audio3.78
#36Mood3.84
#59Overall3.81
#274Theme3.47
#278Humor2.78
#282Fun3.28
#439Innovation3.13
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:46pm

this is really wonderful!! I haven't finished yet but it was really easy on the eyes and fun to play. I think some music would be nice ^_^

Snurf says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Awesome mate! Kinda liked the narrating, and honestly enjoyed it! Can't rate yet, but top score on all (except music) ;). Great job sir!

Vic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I love it, the depth of field might be a tad too much, but overall great mood and solid gameplay.

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Cool game! The graphics style was easy on the eyes and the narration was pretty good!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very nice! My only suggestion would be to have the audio narration trigger only when you first get to a level, rather than every time you die! Other than that, it felt very polished. Good work.

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

great game, loved it. The game just works and the mood is great!

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Easily my favourite so far. Thanks!

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Reminded me of thomas was alone :) Great great mood, graphics, sfx, efficient gameplay... well done !

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Impressive use of shaders. And no, using your voice wasn't a mistake. Good show.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The graphics are amazing - some of the best LD graphics I've ever seen. The game is pretty fun too. I understand the thing about the theme and all, but I kinda felt like the 10 second limit worked against you because I wanted to spend more time in the cool and immersive world.

Still, awesome work!

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Waow, I really liked the mood of the game and the visual result !
Although it was though for me. I had to start a lot of times the first level at the beggining, even reaching the platform at the end and starting the animation to go to the next level, but.. too late.
Anyway I manage to see more ! Nice work
Liked it ! :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Cant get past the first level even though i make it to the platform YO. other than that good graphics and you get points for narration. Congrats on a good game.

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Great game. Beautiful graphics!
Really nice "diablo-like" voices XD
5*

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

The narration got annoying after having to repeat the same levels several time. I'd definitely only play the narration everytime a level is first reached. Other than that though, really good job! The visuals are pretty polished, mechanics are introduced at a good pace, and it's pretty fun overall.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Nice game, at the beginning the narration was cool, it should just trigger once! Nice job

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

Feels alot like bastion, i can see the similarities.. i like it.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22am

Thank you so much for your kind words! Really heartwarming. I think the shaders are a bit heavy for some graphics cards.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Awesome look!
There is standard using the theme, and primitive gameplay but...
BUT LOOKS AWESOME!

woodecker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I really liked this game. Its fun and challenging. Maybe the 10 sec. to clear the levels is a little bit forced because of the theme, but makes the game more difficult.

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

this game has a nice mood, the environment was really well built, and it is pretty fast paced, nice!

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Great use of the theme. Solid look and feel. Only thing would have been better if the talking at the start of the level played only once... Instead of when I died. Awesome work.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Love the narration! Good start to a game! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

Wonderful! Only one level, yeah ?

kebabskal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

xndr: Nopes, there should be 8 or something :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

Maggie was alone :P

Great entry!

Pol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Excellent ambiance and stunning visuals, however the controls are somewhat touchy which makes it very frustrating sometimes. Well, liked it anyway !

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

The voiceover was nice, but if you die it repeats. Once it goes through once it should stop, or you should be able to disable that particular blurb. But as you said, 48h is 48h. Good game. Visually stunning.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Sergey Mohov: Haha, totally. One of my favorite games ever :) Thanks!

jerombd says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Perfect! (5 stars everywhere)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice narrative concept, and (really great light effects), but the gameplay is a bit too much simple.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I gave this 5/5 in all categories. Loved this game, and would like to see it on steam. Really pro and unique level of graphics!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:06am

Really liked the narration of the story. Fun entry. :)

Exergy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Visually stunning!

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Love the look of this one!

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Cool concept and presentation!

Nice job!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:42am

Great use of audio and props for having a fully narrated game! I would say the only thing I would do differently would be to not replay the same narration bit after dying. On the later levels, I basically memorized your script lol

xrm0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:41pm

It would be better if the initial narration was not replayed every time after you die

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]