August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Alcheminion

by bigbadwofl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Step into the shoes of a lowly apprentice, destined to serve the greatest alchemists of our time!

Drink potions in your quest to serve your master ever faster.

Tools: Visual Studio, Photoshop, Fruity Loops, Audacity, PyxelEdit.

Works best in: Chrome > Opera > Firefox
Works not at all in: IE (older versions) and Safari

PS. All 10 levels are possible. Yes even the last one! Complete all ten and save your score in the global high score list.

PPS. I didn't really use the theme. Originally all levels were limited to 10 seconds (with potions that extend the time) but that really wasn't fun at all so I removed it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#41Audio3.69
#64Fun3.72
#90Mood3.55
#109Graphics3.84
#118Overall3.62
#191Humor3.04
#337Innovation3.28
#1123Theme2.17

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20am

This game is awesome! But unfortunately I have to add that the theme was different..

Blanky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13am

Awesome game, it feels like TM nations forever in that you have to have perfects runs for the best score possible. That with a cool puzzle effect that involves failure. Awesome story line. I lived the scores.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:09pm

GOOD GAME BRO ... LIKE U MADE A GAME ABOUT ONE PF MY PAST JOBS

berkano says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14pm

This is really well put together. Great level design and controls are smooth - very playable. Love the zombie rave soundtrack :-) Nice job!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Stuck on IE for the time being, might have to try this later

GlennBrann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really fum and really well made.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Would have had all my fives if you had followed the theme ^_^

Overall a really good game :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28pm

The positive and negative powerups are cool, all around a fun collection game, but it doesn't seem like you did anything relating to the theme.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

A very excellent entry, except for the fact that the theme wasn't really incorporated. The soundtrack was terrific, and the gameplay was quite fun. Very well done.

loxo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Really great game! I finished it, it was fun to play. Had to use chrome, because it didn't get past the loading screen in safari.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very nice game!

calimeraw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38pm

It's nicely done! I can't do art/sound like that my self! Good jobs!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

Solid title! I like the graphics.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:37pm

The music is awesome!

Why wouldn't that work on IE? Fell for WebGL?

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I think this game is the most fun of the ~40 games I've played so far! Also has very nice finishing with the music, sound effects, art and highscore.
Too bad that the theme did not work out, but I guess that's bound to happen to a bunch of entries with a theme like this...

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:31am

A nice, but simple game. :)

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:13am

I really liked it when the game became more puzzle oriented than purely collection, but it quickly got to a point where it was dominated by trial-and-error (levels 7 and 8), after which I quit. If the order of potion requests was known in advance, it'd give the player some ability to strategize, since I don't get the sense that this trial-and-error sensation was an objective of the game.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:13am

The music is awesome, I could listen to it a few more levels.
I guess you make the right choice by focusing on the fun instead of the theme. I really enjoyed all the level, playing with the different potions effect (light blue + red, you're a super hero).

Darien says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:52am

Lots of promise here for sure. As others have said, the later levels are a bit too trial-and-error grind-y, and there's no real attempt to incorporate the theme, but you have a great base for a clever puzzler here!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]