August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RUN: TEN MORE SECONDS

by DeadlyFugu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey! Read this! Please?

---LD27 RUN: TEN MORE SECONDS---

You must run! But you only have 10 seconds! There are
conveniently placed watches everywhere. These watches give
you the power to turn the clock back and give you TEN MORE
SECONDS!

---CONTROLS---

<SPACE> Jump!
<SHIFT> Crouch/Stomp
<ENTER> Pause!
M Mute the godawful music!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#296Fun3.26
#406Theme3.32
#562Overall3.05
#613Audio2.44
#641Graphics2.75
#1057Innovation2.17
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48am

Sweet game. Sometimes clocks don't get generated for a long time, which makes it impossible to continue. Nice animation o/

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50am

Simple, but nice concept. I liked the changing level design. The "speed up" text was a bit on the way, maybe it could be on the bottom of the screen or something.
Good job. :)

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

This game is perfect for 10 seconds theme!
I managed to die in the cemetary zone :D

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24am

Despite the graphics and loose controls, this is actually one of the better games I've played. It's simple, but it does what it does well, and the stages were interesting to see.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29am

Didn't start using Linux Mint 15 64bit with Java 7.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

It says a Java exception has occured.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51am

:3

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

@Rick_Hoppmann @okmmjyygv run it from the console and send me the output (pastebin it preferably)

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Neat game! Very stressful to play. Worth playing over and over just to listen to how the music continues. Gameplay is nothing too special compared to other running games, but the timer certainly adds another layer of challenge to it all.

By the way, it has a muting bug? Every time I die, the music mutes for good, until I press M myself, of course.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice concept. I like the game. Seems like your procedural generation could use a little tweaking - occasionally there will be long stretches with no clocks (I even had a few runs with no clocks in the first 10s)

Also the text sometimes covers the obstacles which caused me to lose a few times.

And one very minor quirk: the height of jumps seemed somewhat random. I couldn't tell if it was linked to the length of the key press or the speed I was going (or perhaps framerate dependent). This didn't really effect gameplay, but it made the controls feel less responsive.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56am

Simple but fun game. I like the humorously animated stick figure.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

I liked how the seagulls yelled things when you ran past them. I couldn't get further than the sea level though, it was quite hard to get past there.

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice graphics! Best match with the theme. It takes time to master timing in jumping :) Another thing, while you're jumping you can crouch at the same time which may lead to cheating in some ways I guess.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

A little game that is actually funny :) Stressfull, simple to play and entertaining. you should work on the graphics, especially the main character. hihi!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Video of when I streamed your game: http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2837187

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

This surprised me with its polish. Varied terrain, birds, fish, score logging. Great work!

I really like your "godawful" music. :)

DeadlyFugu: You requested a Linux build of my game. It's now available!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Nice use of the theme for a jump 'n' run game. I also like that the level is randomly generated, though the clocks are sometimes places so far apart that it becomes unbeatable. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]