August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BIOFUEL

by Ciaran54 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WHICH VERSION TO PICK: If you have Java installed, you can use the 'system JRE' version, which has a smaller download. If you don't, you aren't sure, or you have any problems, use the 'Portable JRE' version. Enjoy ;)

EDIT: Fixed a typo that was causing people with different framerates to have different jetpack speeds. This was already present for all other movement other than jetpack movement. the lack for the jetpack was just a typo. hope this fixes some peoples issues! Enjoy ;)

An infinite vertical platformer with a jetpack that can only hold 10 seconds of fuel.

And you can throw eyeballs like there's no tomorrow!

Now with extra slurping noises and other mouth-made sound effects!

All content and code was made during the 48h (except the tiny bit of drawing code I posted first ;))
Hope you enjoy it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#173Humor3.11
#372Audio2.86
#585Mood2.69
#626Fun2.83
#650Graphics2.74
#738Overall2.88
#816Theme2.87
#862Innovation2.54

Comments

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

Sounds were very interesting, love the intro though

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Maybe I'm dumb but I couldn't seem to do anything more than jump a few feet off the ground, and while I wasn't jumping it was just making this loud grinding noise.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

was I realy getting 6000 to 10,000 fps? you need to put in a FPS limiter

haha amusing game, sound, graphics

controls/movement was good. I would have liked to have seen just the bad guys at the location, not being able to hit them while flying up was slightly annoying.
but good mix of everything

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

Frustrating to say the least. But that intro was funny! Good back story! Now...to hunt beavers.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

@Dark Acre Jack: Attempt a double jump ;)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Haha, like the sounds and the grafix, controlling the player was a bit of a challange.
Nice one!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

It doesn't work for me... (Ubuntu 13.04) :(

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:41pm

In the modern world, fuel has been always an issue. We need these plants!

Took me a while to figure out the double jump for the jetpack, other than that the controls have been logical^^

I was a bit confused that you had to hit "enter" at the explanation screen - I mean the "empty" lines required an extra keypress^^

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Cool game. the death sound made me laugh

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38pm

That was surprisingly fun. Great entry!

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Very cute little game :) I liked the humor of it, and the sound effects added a very nice funny atmosphere to the game. I had fun playing it.

When it comes to the controls, I think I understand the idea you went with when it came to the jump/fly combination of spacebar. So that you could jump around the platforms to collect fuel without using any. Correct me if I'm wrong though :) At any rate, while the idea is good and seems simple, I actually felt they were awkward most of the time. It felt confusing to juggle between jumping and jump and then fly while having to focus on the other objective of the game, steering around plants, shooting them, etc.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Oh man, the flying sound is awesome! And the entire soundpack is very nice.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I dunno why, but I found the score to 10 significant figures pretty funny =D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Pretty fun,
I would've preferred autofire for the eyeballs instead of one per click, as it would take less mental and physical resource from the player and make the game feel more casual.
The acceleration of the jetpack was a tad too fast for me. The same maximum speed but a slower acceleration would have made it easier to control.
Overall great job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I absolutely loved the intro for this game. It was minimalistic, and it worked. The sounds were funny too! XD

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

Well, the sounds were funny! Nice art too!

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19am

Pretty cool, sweet intro
but gets a bit annoying when you run out of fuel

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Really fun vertical platformer. I like the slurping noise. :D It would be nice if the plants would drop more fuel. You get stuck very quickly, and it's quite frustrating when you cannot continue because you have no more fuel.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Maybe put some fuel to collect. Some jumps are rather impossible without the fuel but you run low on it very fast.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

@Joxno, ZXYer, Tanser Yeah, I see what you mean, it is kinda frustrating when you lose because of something you had no control over. I've doubled the amount of fuel that the plants drop, and reduced the force they're thrown out with. Definitely make the game more fun because if you lose it's due to your own fault now :P

I also plan to add more enemies, and change the generation of the map to something more considered than the pure randomness it is at the moment :P

Of course, these changes aren't in the version above, but thanks for the suggestions ;)

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

if it was only that easy to make a jetpack :P

keep up the good work :)

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very funny game! I liked the sound effects and the shots physics! The fuel was a bit hard to recover (it took me sometime to understand what was happening with those particles haha).

Good game! =D

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Nice :) Good sound :D

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very funny sounds, but not very much to play. Also, the game doesn't seem to restart after the game over. Still, it gets very addictive if you figure out the survival tactics and become really desperate. I've managed to continue after four out-of-fuel bites!

Score: 206.27000007629395, now that's a joke! 5 for Humor.

Is there an ending?

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I'm not that good in this game... but I must say it's not too bad a game at all :)
As others have said, the sounds deserve a special commendation.

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I loved the sounds. :D Fun game too, even though I was quite bad at it. :D

Bouncing bullets was really helpful. :)

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I liked this! The sounds are interesting, and the mechanic is similar to a game that I was planning to do (still wip). well done ;)

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:31am

Nice game, glad we figured out the double-jump thing. I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]