August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nex

by PhiL Blunt - Jam Entry

Nex, a colorful shooter by myself and FractalMind.

bugs fixed:
enemies stop spawning on level 2 >
clamped y of some enemies to stop them spawning out of reach of the player.
added instructions
stopped score resetting each level.
stopped total kills resetting each level.
redudced levels from 5+ boss to 3+ boss.
made player ship a little faster.

added web version (timer is incorrectly displayed on web version).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHk08iFr8dM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Graphics(Jam)3.90
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#306Audio(Jam)2.78
#322Overall(Jam)3.05
#349Fun(Jam)2.79
#504Theme(Jam)2.58
#558Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

this is really nifty! i love the title screen, and the look and feel of the game. it reminds me a bit of the trench run sequence from star wars. took me a while to figure out how to shoot though

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Got pretty repetitive after a while, could've used a boss or some other way of progression (upgrades etc.), that might have required extra time though.

Visuals were pretty neat!

FractalMind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Hi, I'm co-developer and I think there might be a bug that stops progression to the boss level at the end of the game. :(

There's the mech boss from the title page in there somewhere. Should come after level 5. :S

Also, there's a bug that resets the score after each level leading one of our belated testers to think the whole game reset after each level.

Thanks for the comments, both praise and constructive criticism. :)

funkbob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

There is a boss! the waves you complete are actually different levels (you see the background change), you get to fight the mech, nicely animated but sooo tough. Nice one, not a bad little game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Visually stunning! Really liked the atmosphere.

PhiL Blunt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54am

Confirmed, game breaking bug. Until a fix is released you can use 'T' key to add 5 seconds. Worth it, just to play the Boss.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

The game itself was fairly fun, but the soundtrack made me want to rip my hair out after a while :(

I really love these graphics a lot, though.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

Amazing graphics and very challenging game. Could have used better controls, specially for shooting, but overall 4/5

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:17am

Theme felt forced, but otherwise, this is sweet!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53pm

It's pretty cool ;) And these colors :D Good work.

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54pm

You really could have explained the controls someplace, it took me a while to discover that "x" was for shooting.

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

A space ship shooter is always a great option, and this is a nice execution of that kind of game.
I just love it, great!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very interesting visuals you have there, it is really unique. Gameplay wise i could just stand in the left center and spam bullets and clear the level. The boss seemed almost unbeatable, no way near at winning against it. Still, solid game all round =)

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Amazing atmosphere, i like very much of graphics and immersion

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]