August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Spike

by toaster - Jam Entry

Tick Tock, Tick Tock. Every ten seconds spikes will rise out of the ground, trying to smite our hero. Survive to get the treasure! Be warned, it's relatively challenging.

Move with arrows, jump with Z. Survive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme(Jam)3.40
#257Graphics(Jam)3.40
#290Mood(Jam)2.91
#322Audio(Jam)2.74
#354Overall(Jam)2.98
#361Innovation(Jam)2.79
#380Fun(Jam)2.69
#431Humor(Jam)1.82
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

Nice game, the timer for spikes is a really cool mechanic and the audio is a great touch

dmastergames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

Good Game :D

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

Fun implementation of a nice idea. :) I really liked the art style too. Great work!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Looks awesome! The combination of not knowing where the spikes will come out of the ground and the music build up makes it quite an exciting experience :)

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40am

Difficult but oddly addicting. I kept on trying to see if I could get a little further, trying to remember where all of those pesky spikes would come up.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I like the idea of spikes on a timer, the sound ramping up in a jaws-esque part was also really great.

It would have been nice to have a visual signifier for dangerous ground though as opposed to spikes suddenly appearing and dying without any warning.

Aside from that niggle the rest is pretty solid, there's some good handy work there with the tetris patterned landscape, the jumps get more challenging as the game progresses which is a good thing and you've got some cool area seperation going on with the woods and dungeon areas. I was left guessing for safe points in areas which was frustrating but I'm guessing you were going for something along the lines of I wanna be he guy here?

If so then, yes, you have certainly pulled it off with style!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

Quite tense, what with the creepy music, but it ran rather poorly on my system, which detracted from the experience.

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice game! really hard for me =)) but so cute! good job

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

great suspense, more terrifying then any slenderman game - you've got something that should evolve.

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Nice job, the way the music gives the hint of the spikes is great. I couldn't make it to the end, got really frustrated after a while, sorry... :D

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Ahh! I love the character! Look at his little hat :3
Unfortunately I found it really frustrating that there was no clue where the spikes would turn up, and that dying sent you back to the start. Simply having different coloured tiles that hold spikes could help.
The audio and art is great!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Really fun to play ! Scary and all, very good :)

orunbot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

HAHA, actually made me panic on some of those jumps, great mood

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I kinda assumed the grass meant safe spots, but then there isn't actually any cue, so I found myself waiting for the spikes to appear - and with that, the 10 seconds seems a bit too long for trial and error. The graphics are cute, but a bit flat (different hues, too-same value). Rather original, though, and quite compelling. I only quit because of the jitter/slowdown when jumping far.

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I like the idea, that the music is indicating when the spikes are coming instead of a timer. Sometimes it feels a bit unfair, that you cannot see where the spikes are, so you have to advance very slowly.

Photon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I couldn't even get past the first series of jumps. The controls need some serious work, as I couldn't get jumps to register all the time and in general the character seemed to delay his movements sometimes. That's a big deal when you're talking about a timing-sensitive game like this. Great mood and aesthetic though. So all in all, a bit of a mixed review from me, but with a little work it could probably work much better.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice game, love the graphics

Mago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Cool game. I realy liked art and stresfull timer sound that announce spikes.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Graphics are cute! Game is kind of frustrating, the gravity is a little weird, but I liked the game nonetheless. =)

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Fun to play but what a stressfull music !! :D

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Haha, cute art. It was kind of impossible to tell where spikes were going to appear with trial and error/ being really mega cautious. 10 seconds is a long time to wait every time your unsure too :) I really like the idea though! and I did have fun.

Photon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

OK, I want to apologize because it appears my new computer is the thing that's messing up Flash-related stuff right now, thus my issues with the controls.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:52am

Cute pixel art graphics and good game concept.

tony.pe says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

This is great, I love the silence after the music runs out and there's the dreadful anticipation of where the spikes will show up.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

Really cool game! Love the graphics as well, and a great use of the theme! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:05am

I love how you pretty much teach the player the primary mechanic in the first screen by showing the spikes on the title, very clever!
Cute game, so much tension!

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:28am

A solid platformer! A bit laggy on slower computers. I liked the idea nonetheless.

Lyonsbanner says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I don't really like platform games which heroes have soap instead of shoes. On an old machine, it's almost unplayable.
However, the idea is great. I like it.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I liked the overall idea a lot. I wish the music timer was better synched up with the arrival of the spikes? There seemed to be a 2-3 sec lag on my end, not sure if that was intentional or not. Also, I wasn't real clear where the safe parts of the ground were, or not. Perhaps I missed an obvious clue? But, great idea overall, and I'd continue work on this and polish up some of the feedback to the player. There's a fun core game here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]