August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Team Seconds

by AdricZero - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Intro
------
The guys always sent in first have gone missing during their latest secret mission.

The second team, who everyone thinks is inferior to the First's, has volunteered to rescue the First's. Help show the world all 10 Seconds are just as good as the First's.

How to Play
-----------
Each character moving around with the green head is one of your Second's.

Click them with the mouse and they will stop moving.

Click them again and they will start moving.

Stop them over a door and they will search and clear the room. If there are any First's in there, they will be rescued.

After you have searched all the rooms, move all 10 Second's over the egress holes in the floor.

When they are all placed over one of these points, they will fall to the lower level.

Continue this on each level until you have found all 10 First's, then proceed directly to the first floor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#465Innovation3.09
#508Humor2.29
#558Theme3.18
#873Audio1.76
#891Overall2.70
#992Graphics2.13
#1001Mood2.00
#1075Fun2.13
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I get the "hazardous download" warning in Chrome, sorry.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Any EXE downloaded that is not signed will show this warning.

I understand your concern. My future entries will all be web based.

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I got this error when trying to run it: http://imgur.com/oDrSCtB
I really wanted to play. :(

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I liked your interpretation of the theme. It reminded me of Lemmings just a bit. The transitions on the opening were also pretty sweet. The only thing is that it got kind of repetitive rather quickly.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Neat re-interpretation! A little tedious, though.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

@EmptyFlash I would just verify if the avbin.dll got extracted to the same directory as the game.exe file and you are running it from that directory.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Reminds me of hotel mario but I wont hold that against you. It didn't twig at first but the theme is nicely used here.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

@zanzindorf I agree about the repetiveness. The Lemmings reference is a good one. I did not consciously realize this until when the game was almost complete. Even the green heads was coincidental. I was going to have red heads to denote the First's but had to cut that feature.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Haha clever use of the theme. It's an interesting concept for sure.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Interesting concept! I like your interpretation of the theme. The controls could really be improved, and when I played I got a terribly low frame rate.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Quirky idea but needed a bit less repetitiveness

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Pretty good idea, but hard to play, whenever I clicked on 1 dude that slightly overlapped the other it almost always chose the other, may be a coincidence but it made the game near to impossible. Maybe bind keys to each player or select them and manually move them to a specific location.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Seemed pretty hard and alittle confusing, never finished it. No audio and graphics a bit plain for me good try!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

Somewhat reptetitive, but still a fun game!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

It no run.

mamoniem says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:21am

very strange game :D but nice explanation first !

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:57am

This game would run on my computer. I got it to start but then it would freeze up if I clicked anywhere. Due to this, I could not record it for my LD27 compilation video. Sorry :/

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:50am

Lol the simple story adds a lot of character to this game. It has a nice old school arcade style to it. Reminds me partly of lemmings. Nice job!

euske says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:09am

Haha, nice take of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]