August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tax Evasion

by lurkingshadow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a simple running game in witch the goal is to jump along the roof tops and collect coins all while trying to avoid going bankrupt as the government takes $10 tax every ten seconds!


==Known Bugs==
Block generator builds small then large;
Can walk on air;
Mobile version does not auto orientate or resize;

==change log==
1.0.0: Initial release;
1.0.1: Added metric data(lvl boost);
1.0.2: Added metric data(flox);
1.0.3: Removed lvl boost, Fixed Spelling;
1.0.4: Fixed Bug causing instant loss on new game;
1.0.5: Initial mobile release;
1.0.6: Jumping bug fixed(web only);

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#550Humor2.24
#885Audio1.71
#1053Mood1.77
#1129Coolness49%
#1143Theme2.00
#1156Fun1.81
#1169Graphics1.58
#1188Innovation1.65
#1193Overall1.81

Comments

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

The jump height of the character varies wildly, occasionally causing you to do a short hop when holding down the space bar. I also couldn't see any indication of the number of coins I had.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Collisions are a tad buggy at times

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Good but short

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

This game need just that tiniest bit of polish in order to be great.
1. Add some background music
2. Check in the code if a jump is doable or not, as I am fed-up of jumps like this.
......._____
.......|......|
.......|......|
.......|..... |
____|.......|____

vible says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I havent tried the game yet but will when i get home. But one thing: "The government will take some take"?

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25am

@Lancey, Im not sure why the jumping is like that. There was a bug making the jumping funny the I believe I fixed and will look into that and see if I can fix, also coins is in a small box top right :D;

@Kortunga, thanks I will look into it;

@Conflei, thanks;

@Zephyr89, I would have liked to have put in background music although I run out of time, There must be a bug in the code for the jumps witch I will look into.

@vible, Thanks for pointing that out, Ill fix and re upload now :D,

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great idea (love the funny social commentary there), but some gameplay issues. I would have loved to see the amount of my coins being subtracted from; instead my main goal in this game was to avoid dying from sliding into a house.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

I like the hand drawn buildings and character. I went on for a long long time and then my score was 5. Taxes! heheh

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26am

A lot better now that most of the jump bugs are mostly ironed out.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

Not my favorite game of LD27, but it was a funny premise, and the programmer art was charming. :3

One thing to remember when designing a game; always save some time at the end to do a few rounds of bug testing, and try to iron those out. Good luck in your future endeavors.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Jumping felt a little buggy, which made certian jumps nearly impossible.

VoidChronos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice entry, good job!

manuq says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:35pm

As Zephyr89 said, you better check in the code the walls that are impossible to jump. Worked fine on android.

manuq says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Oh I see you fixed it for web. Great!

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I live in Sweden so I know how taxes feels like ;)
Simple but still fun game.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Jumping isn't feels right and there were cases when the guy stayed in air after the platform. Much more work needed on this entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]