August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defused!

by bugninja - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defused!

YOU HAVE 10 SECONDS TO PULL THE RIGHT WIRES AND DEFUSE THE BOMB!

BUT... HOW LONG DO YOU HAVE UNTIL YOUR LUCK RUNS OUT? HOW LONG UNTIL YOU PULL THE WRONG WIRE FIRST? GOOD LUCK!!!

NOTE: If playing the HTML5 version, you can open it on your iPad, press the Bookmark button, save it to your home screen, and then you can play it full-screen. On iPad, music doesn't work, and sounds are slow the first time they are played - but I think that's HTML5's fault :)

Pull wires by clicking them, and click "Enter" or hit [ENTER] on your keyboard to check the reults. It will say how many you have correct.

I have lots of ideas for this game, but no time left :)

v1.3a-e 25-8-2013 12:14pm PST
- Added more sounds
- Added Defused and Boom messages to make game play more
clear.
- Added Best Score
- Bug fixes. Can't believe how many there are for such a SIMPLE little game.
- Fixed loading screen to support HTML5 release coming (hopefully)

v1.2 Updates:
- Added music and sounds!
- Randomly generated music with autotracker.py

v1.1 Updates:
- Made it full size 1024x768
- Added text to the Wins meter to explain it better.
- Made the rules more clear.
- Changed some graphics slightly, like Check Now button.
- Added Flash Preloader
- Fixed loading screen display time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#150Audio3.30
#175Graphics3.62
#188Theme3.59
#517Humor2.28
#580Fun2.90
#700Overall2.93
#748Mood2.48
#818Innovation2.62

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

The clear feedback made me feel aware. If you continue to develop this, have you considered how to vary the mechanism of checking the state?

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Not really. I have more planned on creating other variations of defusing the device in the game. Like unplugging leads in certain orders, etc.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

I've seen multiple variations of this game being submitted already, the main reason I tried yours was because the graphics looked really good. The wire checking portion is neat. Problem is 10 seconds is way too short for this kind of thing. :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Simple yet fun and addicting. Good game :D

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56am

I am definitely not switching ma job to bomb technician! Feels good, graphics & music fit well together. A bit too much luck for my taste.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Getting 0 correct is equivalent to a boom, so there is a 1/16 chance of breaking your score combo.
10 seconds really put me on the challenge, however, once mastered, I think it's going to be boring.
The game is actually good in terms of graphics and music.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Hehe liked it :D. Cool idea, good art, nicely done. Though to easy

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone!!!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

This is nicely polished, good job! Would've been a lot more fun with multiple levels.

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I liked it, but the algorithm for solving the puzzle is too easy and the fact that you can just randomly lose through no fault of your own is frustrating.

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

@optimality :) Unfortunately, what frustrates you is the core of the game. Yes, it's technically easy to solve the little puzzles, but the luck factor is supposed to play into the "defuse the bomb" scenario. Which wire do you pull first? What if you're wrong? How long can you survive defusing bombs before your luck runs out?

Maybe I should add that to the description so people know that it's coming, they know that their luck is going to run out. Thanks for the feedback, I'll change the description a bit.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Very Nice. Simple yet entertaining :)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I love the art, but the gameplay is not clear for me. Didn't manage to disarm it.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

It really reminds me of inverted mastermind.

You could really extend this after the comp by ramping the difficulty with more components to experiment with.

nice game! I also like the art and boom effect.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:46am

Nice fast bomb difusing gameplay. Good implementation of the instructions as a note as a background element, and nice idea with the check button.

voidstar69 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Interesting idea

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Brilliant. Great presentation and feels suitably tense. Literally managed it once with 1 on the clock! Good idea for the puzzle too.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Good game ! Very fun

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:58am

Interesting game but you too quickly reach the level where you either die on the first move or win every time. Something need to be added to give the game more depth.

sanojian says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nicely put together but a little bit too easy.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:53am

Quick and fun.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:40am

Great looking game, fun to play, nice mix of difficulty and doableness.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]