August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tower of Voronoi

by andrebeton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a two player game. You fight for territory. After ten seconds a winner is chosen based on how you placed your markers.

To set a marker you have to push your button:
Player 1: "A"
Player 2: "L"

Start the game from a terminal with "java -jar tower.jar" after you unzipped the archive and put the "res"-folder and the "tower.jar" into the same folder. JRE 7 is needed to play the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation3.00
#789Audio2.06
#1031Theme2.50
#1085Fun2.11
#1095Overall2.37
#1150Graphics1.69
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

This is a really interesting concept for a game. The biggest problem for me was how unpredictable the location of the line was, so I couldn't really plan what I was going to do ahead of time.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

I cannot play the game (Ubuntu 13.04).
rephus > java -jar tower.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

andrebeton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

rephus: you probably use an older version of the java runtime environment. you need version 7.0

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

It's not like other games... I don't know... :|

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

As someone who doesn't know how Voronoi decomposition works, the area is somewhat unpredictable. An intereresting concept however. Should probably read about the algorithm a bit. Btw, although it says "Linux" on the download, it works on my Windows machine (well, it's Java after all), so it's a bit misleading.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Same, just say java instead of linux.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18pm

The music does get annoying what feels like it's 50th loop. ;) Some techno would be much better than the country. :)

TaleLore says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Confusing but interesting.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Was a tad bit too confusing for me tbh

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Didn't play it with another player but I get the idea... a very nice idea.

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Even if I know what a Voronoi diagram is, the game was still mostly left to random because of the marker-placing line.
I think the issue is that the theme does not fit the game quite well (the Voronoi game is better played turn-by-turn, at least by my experience).
On a totally unrelated note, I went through you source code to find which way you implemented the Voronoi diagram, but I was not able to find it. Which one did you choose ?

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Interesting concept, would be fun to play with someone and see what tactics you could come up with.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Intrsting .... but as a player I need to know ahead ...add that

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

It is working on Windows 7 64 bit as well. You should change the description of download link.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]