August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RetroType

by Blinked - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RetroType is a retro themed typing test.

This typing test involves 12 rounds that each last 10 seconds.
Every 3 rounds, the words get a bit longer. When you finish, you are given a score and your WPM(Words Per Minute).

This is a fairly simple game, but it's effective at what it does. I made it because I could not for the life of me think of anything else to make for this theme.
Also I really only started about half way through the competition anyway, so I didn't have as much time as I'd have liked to polish it up... But it works :)

-------------------------------------------------------

NOTE: DO NOT PRESS ENTER OR SPACE!!!
They are not needed to go to the next word, in fact pressing enter will screw up the text field.
In the event you do press enter, just press backspace.

--------------------------------------------------------

Also, for those of you who can type fast (because I cannot sadly.) Feel free to post your scores and/or WPM below!

Enjoy :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#573Audio2.52
#639Fun2.82
#694Graphics2.66
#738Overall2.88
#893Mood2.27
#912Theme2.72
#919Humor1.56
#1035Innovation2.21

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

I got to about score 414. Pressing enter messes it up (I just saw that in the instructions..)

Cool though!

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

472 for me.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

I actually think it is well-polished, just not much of a game.

Blinked says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

True, it's pretty much just a typing test with a couple basic game elements thrown in, and with a bit of a 'gamey' retro feel to it. There's a lot more I'd liked to have done with it, but didn't have time for.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

482! Like you said, fairly simple but it does the job and thats respectable. I enjoyed it!

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Really satisfying getting words right. Simple/Clean design. Awesome work.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Clean, but not very fun imo :(

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Score: 875, WPM: 87. Not bad, I guess? ;)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

...I'll not post my WPM so as to keep hidden the depths of my shame.

Anyhoo, typing games are usually a lot of fun and this is no exception. Really felt polished, too. Well done!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great art and sound. Could have maybe used a little music, possible getting more complex as the level increases. I had a few instances of getting the same word twice, and I think it would be better if that was prevented somehow. Good thematic interpretation.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The presentation is really simple though effective! Really good fun.

Komradus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

You would probably get a more accurate WPM result by collecting each rounds WPM and then averaging them all together. Interesting take on the theme, well done.

Zerot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Nice little game. not very innovative, but well executed.

mboaj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:55am

nice game. I like the look and feel. Same as Steve I messed up one game because I clicked the return key

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:56am

very well made, and good choice of graphics.

noddy2006 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:43am

Score of 627, WPM of 62 for me. The game was made very difficult by the fact that I couldn't press the spacebar in between words - in fact, it actually caused my forearm to ache halfway through. Also, if I were you I wouldn't have put in words which differ between localizations - it took a lot of effort for me to write "colorful" when I'm used to writing "colourful"!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:23pm

609 points, 60 wpm. Nice and simple game. Like the sound effects.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:44pm

624 score, 62 wpm. It's a simple concept but actually a lot of fun! The subtle feedback cues really help, such as the blip sound effect and the scaling of the input box when a word is correct. It's a shame the spacebar couldn't be ignored, I really want to type spaces between the words.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Woo 522! I don't know if that is very good or not. Nice typing game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]