August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

There is no time

by brodavi - Jam Entry

====INSTRUCTIONS====
arrow keys - move
space - action/dismiss

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Mood(Jam)3.26
#177Innovation(Jam)3.24
#190Theme(Jam)3.33
#249Humor(Jam)2.56
#339Fun(Jam)2.81
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#474Graphics(Jam)2.62
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Ugh... time management is my enemy.

But, the game plays pretty much how I envisioned it, there is a win condition, and I had fun with a narrative.

Man, polygon-based character animation is no fun.

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

It was pretty good. Just, I kept clipping on the walls and had a weird time with the timer. I finished it and was felt pretty good that I solved the little puzzle you laid out before me. Regardless, it's a nice little title. By the way, when it said "backwards-walking-man" was that referring to the main character?

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Played this while waiting for another to download, love the affordance! The atmosphere is tense, and really uses that 10 seconds well. It isn't too pretty, but I liked the sense of discovery as you "loop" around time. There's also the concept of "sleep" which could mean creepy things. I could envision this being a very large and intense adventure game.

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32pm

collisions a bit tricky to work around, but apart from that i really enjoyed it. the like the use of all the spaceships cool features and rooms.

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28pm

@Clodial Thanks! Yeah I was going for a rich polygon art style (squares for eyes, badges, buttons, wall seams, etc), but just ran out of time. In hindsight, I could have just faked it with tiles (which would have resolved the clipping issues), but oh well. Thanks for playing! Sorry I can't rate your game, I only have linux. Oh, the "backwards-speaking man" is a reference to "Twin Peaks".

@thesunnyk Thanks so much! Yeah, I wanted this game to instill mystery. I actually wanted to have an animated cut-scene with the backwards-speaking man, but no time. Yep, I would love to expand on it and make it a large adventure game! Thanks for playing!

@stewthepoo Haha thanks yeah sorry about the collision stuff. I'll work on it. I wanted to add more cool spaceship stuff like replicators and robots and force fields, but alas, no time. Thanks for playing!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I like it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54pm

i like the concept, but i bored in the 3rd try. Good job anyway i miss some music or sounds :/

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Great idea, I like the game and finished it. Only the backward walking man animation is a bit distracting.

brodavi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

@almightyzentaco Thanks for playing! I wanted to play your game. The trailer looks amazing! But I have no Windows :(

@Pixelfan Games Sorry you got bored :( Yeah I wanted some music and sounds, but just didn't have the time. Your game is awesome!

@loxo Yeah that character animation was a nightmare. I shouldn't have done geometry animation. It bothers me too. Thanks for playing!

zanval says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Hi, could you please tell me what Operating System and Java version you used when that error happened with my game?
(sorry, I don't know how to send private messages on this website)

zanval says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

My game requires Java 7. It will not run with Java 6.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I love the mood and the implementation of the theme. Intriguing little story at the beginning and fun puzzles. I really like the polygon art as well. Very well done!

brodavi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

@djbriandamage Thanks! :)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

The looping mechanic is interesting.

Timer seems to be going too slow for 10 seconds. ALso, i thought actions are saved between loops, but i keep dying to radiation even though i got radiation protection in the last loop. ANd other actions aren't saved, such as getting the hyperdrive regulator, if that's what i remember it being called. Frustrating.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I liked the idea of completing tasks in such a small time, but given some opportunities to reset time. we went for something similar but with larger times, to see what you could accomplish xD

brodavi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

@hoqjed I didn't get around to inter-second UI, but yes, time slows down if you are reading something. It should speed back up (not quite to real time) when you leave. And yes, some actions don't save, but there is a reason. I just didn't make it clear. The idea was that a copy of you repeats what you did last 10 seconds, like a ghost. So that ghost would get radiation protection, but you wouldn't. But the ghost should teleport the hyperdrive regulator, and you should see that. I am pretty sure that works. Anyway thanks for playing!

@fgielow Thanks for playing! Love your game!

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Really good idea with time travel and teleport, I was 100% in the story :) Also I like the vectorial graphics ! GG :)

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

The collision was kind of hard to get used too. Loved the concept, and I have a mental picture of a guy doing a moon walk while walking around his ship

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:19am

@Makio Thanks! Story was a big part of it. I wanted to explore more but no time. Reeealy love your game btw :) Thanks for playing!

@RARoadkill Sorry about the collision, yeah it's a mess. Hahaha moon walking.. yeah that's what I intended ;) Thanks for playing!

Zap says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:05am

I've recently been watching Star Trek Enterprise, so loved this game- great atmosphere!
I also liked the reference to Twin Peaks ;)
The 'ghost' was a little confusing- I guess I was expecting a visual representation and it was unclear which actions were saved.
I enjoyed playing through to the end, would be cool to see this expanded

brodavi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:08pm

@Zap thanks! Yep, I had originally wanted to show your 'ghost' moving around, doing the things you did last time, but I just ran out of time. Thanks for playing!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:50pm

This game was hard for me to grasp at first but I liked the panic feel of getting the ship going and just the concept in general, of course im a star trek fan so I might be bias lol. good jam.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]