August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coloured Block Swap

by geepit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So I made the mistake of starting out trying to make something too big. With around 4 hours to go I knew that I wouldn't get it finished in time so I decided to scrap it and see if I could actually make something in the time left.

So here it is my "Ludum Dare 48 hour" 4 hour game!
Turned out better than I was expecting, would of liked to have added sound and more rules though.

Run around collecting orbs and obeying the rule which changes every 10 seconds.

Arrow keys to move, x to jump.
Made with Game Maker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Theme3.50
#348Innovation3.26
#463Graphics3.04
#518Overall3.09
#609Fun2.86
#857Humor1.73
#885Mood2.28
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Fun game! I liked the color palette. You did well for only having 4 hours to work on something!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Wow only 4 hours work on this badboy. That's impressive. Love the graphics and it's pretty fun :) Had me playing a while. Great job.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice concept, would suggest making the orb collision more 3D, it's slightly frustrating when it looks like you've got an orb but you don't get it because your not in the same depth.
Other than that, I really enjoyed playing your game.
Although 4 hours? not bad. I had a similar issue where a platformer I was trying to create wasn't working and I only had 3 hours left so decided to scrap it and build another game from scratch. It's not particularly fun with the deadline looming but glad you managed to get a game out

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I love this concept! Too bad you only had 4 hours, you could have worked some more on feedback and finetuning. I had a lot of cheap deaths.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This game is amazing considering you made it only four hours. The game looks very nice, I love the sprite for the little guy. Had a lot of fun with this little game, would love to see it expanded upon!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Neat even though depth perception was a little difficult

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Good job for 4 hours.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Nicely done!
I really liked the concept and animation.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10pm

very good considering how much time it took you -- the controls were a little frustrating (did not stop quickly) -- good job

Sheep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I can't stop blaming the game for dying. Not sure if that's mine or the game's fault. The style is really neat.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Funny little game :) It needs some music and/or sounds, anyways liked it :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

The timer on the rule change, could be slightly longer, because sometimes that would kill me, which seemed unfair. More rules would indeed have been nice, just like sound. I think the graphics suited the game well.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:13am

Very cool game! I like the graphics a lot.
The mechanics are very interesting too.
Too bad you didn't have time to include sound effects and music, but the results of a 4 hour work is impressive!
Good work! =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]