August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Lord

by MemoryLeek - Jam Entry

You're a ninja with the ability to reverse time, but only the last 10 seconds. Your time pool (blue bar in the top left corner) regenerates as time passes.

The objective is to get past the samurai guards without being seen.

There's only 3 levels, when finishing the third level you will loop back to the first.

Controls:
Jump - Space or Right mouse button
Reverse time (hold) - Ctrl or Left mouse button
Left - A or Left arrow
Right - D or Right arrow
Respawn - Enter

There's also gamepad support, it's mapped for Xbox 360 controllers, A = Jump, X = Reverse time, Y = Respawn.

We will most likely upload an OS X build tomorrow as well, if I can figure out how to deploy it properly.

We had sound effects in the game, but it turns out that this caused horrible stuttering on Windows, and since we didn't have time to fix it we disabled sound effects on all platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

Doesn't work on Windows for than a few seconds. Sorry.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Game crashed on windows after about 5s of game play..

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28am

Crashed here too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41am

I too, experienced the crash. =\

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

We have updated the Windows build now and it should fix the crash. However there's still a few bugs left, like bots getting stuck in place sometimes when they should change direction.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

still crashing randomly for me, the game never ran more than 1 minute without crashing. I'm use Windows 7 Ultimate.

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

Unfortunately we can't reproduce the crashes on our system with the development environment installed on, which makes the problem a lot harder to track down. We can however confirm that it does still crash on systems without it installed.

We hope to find and fix this problem later today (we're all currently at work), and we recommend Windows users to wait for this fix before testing the game.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Nice and fun for a 72 hour game.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Crashed pretty consistently, unfortunately :/ Seemed like a nice idea! Liked the graphics on the bots :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]