August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hello Dr. Steiner!

by PapyPilgrim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A top down shooter inspired by "hyper princess pitch".

You have to kill all ennemies in each room in order to proceed to the next one. But beware! you only have 10 seconds to do so

The flv might take a while to load, sorry about that (lots of sounds)

controls : arrows and X

-----------
Known problems
-----------
- sometimes, items will spawn inside walls
- VERY rare : the room might be split in half, preventing the player to shoot ennemies on the other side of the wall, which leads to a gameover
- Poor pathfinding :)
-----------
Tools Used
-----------
FlashDevelop - flixel
Inkscape - paint.net
Audacity
-----------
Misc
-----------
- most of the sounds (not the voice) come from http://www.freesound.org/
- The music is "06 Crazy Comets (Orbital Decay Drum Mix)". You can find it here : http://www.8bitweapon.com/music.htm
- the voice was made using an online text2speech tool. I can't find the url of the one I used, but there is a lot of them
- you should check this out : http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.fr/
-----------
Compo vs. Jam
-----------
I initially submitted this as a Compo entry, but several people told me it was against the rules to submit a Compo with sounds I did not make myself.

Since I spend quite some time reworking the sounds in audacity (and I did more than format conversion or volume/length fine tuning) my only concern was about the music - which I used as I found it. So I read the rules *before* submitting my game:

"Aside from being 'more fair', rule #2 is there for your legal benefit. Services like Google Image Search make it easy to find images and artwork, but many returned images are protected by copyrights. We want you to create something free of copyright restrictions. That way, you are able to bring it as is to Flash game portals, iPhone and other mobiles, downloadable game services, etc. We realize 'temporary art' is just temporary, but for the sake of fairness don't allow it in the competition. If you need something 'temporary', consider using a content generator. For Jam games, you are free to use whatever artwork or content you like (preferably something you have the legal rights to), but you must accept all responsibility for its use."

The whole 'copyright and legal stuff' is a pretty good justification for the rule, and since I made sure I could use all the audio in my game, I seriously considered submitting it as a JAM entry.

However, the other point made in the explanation (and which was the only one used by those who told me I broke the rule) is 'fairness'. And that point made me change my mind. I have made 6-7 LD games, and my impressions were that:
- Jam entries are often made by teams of several peoples who worked full time on the game, hence producing high quality games.
- the use of free sounds assets in Compo entries might not be the norm, but is fairly common
- That particular rule was discussed/contested several times
- people around here are pretty cool with the interpretation of the rules

I worked alone, in less than 48 hours, submited before the Compo deadline, made the graphics myself, spent more than 5 hours on the audio alone, using tools and assets anyone could use... and came out of this weekend completely burnt out. Since we are all here for the sake of making games, and because there is no real rewards in this "competition" (aside from a huge boost to you ego and motivation), I honestly thought people would be totally OK if I broke a controversial rule because I wanted to know how well I did compared to other individuals... not compared to teams.

Yet, today I was told on 3 differents channels (here, on a stream and on twitter) and by 3 differents people that I should switch to a Jam entry.

I certainly do not want the comments on this page to turn into a debate about wether or not the usage of free assets should be authorized in the compo (I am afraid it already did though), so I tried to switch it to Jam but the option is not present when I edit my entry. I guess it is too late to do so, and I really don't want to remove the sounds from the game. This was a honest mystake on my part and I would appreciate it if you guys could give me feedback on the game instead :)


Also, I corrected a recurrent typo in my game, thanks to N0_Named_Guy for pointing it out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#206Humor3.00
#269Audio3.05
#271Fun3.29
#569Overall3.04
#636Graphics2.76
#650Mood2.60
#737Theme2.96
#1021Innovation2.24

Comments

polegar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

Wow, very fun to play and well made ! I like the graphics and the sound. It really looks like a "real" game, which is impressive in only 48 hours.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

I like the intro hehe, make me laugh! One problem I see to this game, I that sometimes a huuuuge number of enemies are spawned so no way I can kill'em all in 10 seconds :(.

Nice work ;)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Fun game! The shooting mechanics feel great and I was curious to explore the map.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Nice! Well polished, really fun game :D
I love the guy's voice xD

justi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Well made game with intro and music. Nice levels. Flash rulez :)

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Ah really hard game.

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Fun and complete.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool game! Loved the sound and music :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Score 5709. I think it would be much better if the aiming is done with the mouse, or another directional keys. Anyway it's a great game! :) Love the music and that synthetic voice talking :D

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Liked this game a lot... reminded me somewhat of a redux Binding of Isaac... I think it would have benefited from more varied enemies or enemies with more "surprising" AI, but it is very very polished, good fun, and a "complete package".

Good luck in the compo!

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

4628. Never found the good doctor but had fun killing the bots. I eventually ran out of despite making it to the next room and the counter resetting to 10. I guess I cut it too close picking up an extra power up.

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

sweet music

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Hard as hell. Nice job though, the shooting mechanic worked well. :) There was some funny bits in it too. Loved the dialogue.

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice job! Like polegar said, feels great for a 48 hour game.
+ great controls, strafing works really well
+ great sounds and music and computer voice
+ fun powerups
- did not like the bullet-time powerup, made it painfully slow getting to the next room
- wasn't sure if i was going the right direction

goyal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice game. Music is intense.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

Should be on Jam, you can't use pre-made (even free) assets in compo.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Very cool, nevertheless :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I won't rate your game, neither post my video review of it until you drop this entry to the Jam. Please abide by the rules.

Dagnarus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57pm

17'581... That game really hooked me I guess :D
The theme is pretty well used (even if poorly justified ;)), the graphics are ok, the music fits perfectly, the powerups have noticeable effects, the hero is... just awesome
The controls are unusual and still feel natural which is great. It took me a couple of tries to actually get it actually , but after that I went on and rocked the house :D (and it actually felt a bit easy)
All the elements of the game come together really well. It truly has some epic moments (room filled with bullets and explosions? Bullettime activated? Let's just phlegmatically drop a "I am... on fire" when that last bot explodes :D)
One note on the bullettime btw : awesome during a fight, a PAIN when the room is empty :D

@N0_Named_Guy : Isn't it a bit harsh? LD is not a contest and rules are merely a general guideline. Sure the guy should have posted in Jam, but he still did an awesome job for 48 hours and deserves better comments than yours (you sounds like you want to punish him tbh)
I hope that you are not on a personal crusade against those who used free sounds assets (which probably is 80% of the people who didn't use bfxr ;D) or those who don't post their sources... because you have a looong road ahead.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Video review link is here: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2835448

Note: I am not trying to punish anyone, just trying to be fair. @Dagnarus: I didn't mean to be harsh on the guy. It's sad that it's so hard convey a "tone" to written words. And so here it is, rated. And yes, he did quite a nice job for 48 hours.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

@Dagnarus Actually he was waiting to rate my game because we thought switching it to a Jam entry would reset all the ratings I already received. I did try to switch, but it appears it is too late to do so. So I updated the description to explain the description as best as I could. I would appreciate it if we could keep this comments thread about the game itself.

Anyway, thanks for the (overly enthusiastic?) feedback :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Pretty fun! :D

hexapode says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Love your game. Don't listen to hatters...

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Intense shooting action, well done! Bullet time bonus was surprising. Music and sounds really add the mood, too.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

What a soundtrack... the music alone keeps me playing that game... I love it. Thanks... controls are very simple and easy to master.... difficulty level is a little to hight... Dying all the the time :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Really nice work, directional fire controls would give it that last little bit of polish. Good job!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

Very enjoyable game. The 10 seconds timelimit really forces you to keep the pace and don't go looting everything before leaving a room. Really liked the voices too.

Taiters says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

Great game, well done! Enjoyed the feel of the shooting (holding to strafe etc). The one thing that I didn't like was that enemies could sometimes spawn too close to an entrance, so I would sometimes be hit as soon as I enter a room.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:16am

One of fun games to play in this jam! Its funny the way he says 'ouch' :P

robertcalvert says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I really like this game, the audio is a prefect fit with the graphics and feel. GREAT!

alts says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:33am

Nice instance of a Smash TV-like game. The mechanics, while not particularly innovated, were well executed, and the whole game felt very solid. Nice work.

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Good work :) the controls took a bit time to get used to, but other than that it was just great :)

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Really enjoyed your game!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Pretty fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]