August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Frozen Braid

by rfgpfeiffer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this intense tactics platformer, the entire battle lasts 10 seconds, but the careful planning may take much longer.

This is as game for Two players with local hot-seat multiplayer. You will need a keyboard and a mouse (touchpad not recommended).

You can control your units to try out tactics and rewind the time to revise your approach. You can also give commands to enemy units during the planing phase in order to find out how well your tactics work against different enemy tactics. When you and your opponent have submitted a battle plan, the plans executed against each other!

You can re-watch replays of previous battles.

To run the game, you need Python 2.7 and PyGame. Extract the .zip and run python main.py.

Instructions for the play-by-mail mode can be found at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/30/play-frozen-braid-by-e-mail-or-chat-or-dropbox/

As usual, <del>Windows</del> and Mac versions will be uploaded early next week. Update: Windows version is up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#310Innovation3.32
#404Fun3.10
#406Theme3.32
#409Overall3.20
#458Humor2.41
#563Audio2.54
#630Mood2.63
#769Graphics2.55

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:45pm

It took all of 3 minutes to learn how to play, and golly is this fun! I enjoy the auto replay saving.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

Still no mac port. :(

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

Zephyr89: I only have GNU/Linux devices available right now. I will borrow a macbook from a friend and build an .app bundle in the next 2 days

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

There was a bug that occurred on windows when saving replays. If the game crashes after the victory screen, disable replays or download a new version.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Really like the concept. I did something similair but I like your strategy style and how you can rewind. Really cool.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Can't try this today for lack of other humans in the vicinity, but it sure looks cute!

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Works and plays fine! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Very complex game.. impressive! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This is the kind of game I would have spent hours playing with friends as a kid!

It is pretty solid all around, my only niggle is the controls are a bit cumbersome: moving while shooting is a little tricky, keypad or arrows would be nice natural choice.

Conclusion: Well done! :D

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

keyboardmonkey: Do you shoot with the mouse?

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Wish I had someone else to play besides myself

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I like how the title screen says to blame the loss on the randomly generated map =)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

It is not mach multiplayer game here! You are cool!!

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

My mind is flying to the Worms Armageddon game... I dont know why.
Interesting implementation of theme! 10 seconds can be much time (learning of Ludum Dare)!
The jump audio is too "punchy" and can be annoying. The graphics are **thumbs up**, this minimalist art is really nice!

Good job! And happy Ludum Dare.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Updated my entry, now accepting linux, tell me if it works properly :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:23am

Your concept is excellent and the abundance of control of your soldier's actions is great (something my game didn't have). In practice however it feels somewhat bulky and convoluted (I guess the floaty controls don't help with that). Having two teams both subject to the dynamic system is really cool, but ends up being a bit messy I feel.

But nevertheless, well done on getting such a system complete within 48 hours.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I enjoyed it, it was really fun! Good job man!

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

hehehe, nice idea :3
I still think it should be a bit more nervous to be more enjoyable but still, I like it

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:08pm

rfgpfeiffer, specifically I meant shooting with the x key while trying to move - I am a keyboard monkey after all ;P This game has nice potential to play against others via an online host. Can you imagine submitting a game and having multiple challengers retaliate? :D

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice concept! I like your entry, good job :)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I like the idea of a more realtimey frozen synapse-like game. And the time travel feature is really well done! Maybe consider having the timer automatically rewind to start when selecting another unused unit? Really cool idea and implementation!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:34am

A fun, well-executed Frozen Synapse demake. This could be really fun to play with other people, especially if it went multiple rounds. Thanks for putting this together!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Nice game.

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very slick, nice game overall really. Frozen synapse is great and this is cool too.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

Brilliantly done and a ton of fun.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

good job

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:33pm

This game had a lot of promise, but I felt like the controls were constantly in my way and it frustrated me. I think having a timeline on the bottom (or even "go back to start") buttons so you could click to rewind/forward and then using "click to select" your man would have both helped significantly for control. In the end it took me way too much time to assign commands for me to fully appreciate it.

I think the basic idea here is brilliant though, a side-scrolling Frozen Synapse, and I think a lot got done here in a short amount of time, especially the different weapons and the whole traveling backwards and forwards in time mechanic.

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Cool style, good job!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

This game mechanic has potential!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]