August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stuck in a Clock

by Aik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're stuck in a clock.
Some dudes appear every ten seconds and chase you.
They die if they run into the clock's hand. So do you.
There's no win condition. Sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#442Audio2.74
#667Innovation2.81
#861Theme2.81
#919Humor1.56
#977Mood2.09
#1003Fun2.32
#1027Overall2.50
#1110Graphics1.86

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53am

You had the same idea as me :P

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

Web version doesn't run for me. Sorry I can't rate it!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

I absolutely love the music! I had some trouble getting the link to work but it finally showed up. At first I was unsure about the game, it seemed kind of simple, just stay right ahead of the clockhand but you made sure to make some guys move in more difficult patterns. You probably don't need a win condition, maybe just a score or something. Overall, I really enjoyed it. Great game.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

It's not running for me either, Safari/Mac. SWF seems to load because I can get the right click menu but it just flashes white and then goes grey.

Aik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45am

Uploaded it to a different place. Should work now.

VDZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Enemies get stuck. Enemies walk through the clock hand without dying. You die even when you're not touching anything. There's no score or timer or any real measure of how well you did.

The game has some potential, but it just doesn't realize that potential.

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Really like the concept. In the web version though the enemies aren't affected by the clock hand after the 20 second mark, they just walk right through.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

I like the idea of the game a lot (and the music.) It would be cool if you made a post compo release that had a score, and a little better hit detection. other wise nice job.

Jeff Melton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

I would love to see this polished up a little bit more. The enemies can go through the hand some times. Loved the music though!

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

Interesting concept but, as others have pointed out, it needs a bit more work.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

Seems like the collisions for the monsters on the third wave and beyond are messed up. I had lots of monsters able to walk across the clock hand without dying.

Also, it's a little odd that you can keep playing after you die. The first time that happened I didn't notice I'd died for several seconds.

The music is great though.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Collisions were a bit messed up in places but the idea was neat

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

love the concept of playing in a clock. would love to see some powerups, score, or other gameplay added!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I got it to run this time! :) HaxePunk, cool. Couldn't get very far, it didn't take long for some bad dudes to cross the clock hand instead of dying from it, and then I was killed. Some of those guys are too fast for a chasing game - they should all be slower than the player. You could consider adding another hand to the clock for added mayhem. Good work!

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:36pm

it's a bit tricky and that's what it make it nice :)
Maybe I have missed a bit of granularity on levels.
Great job!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:44am

very nice concept, too bad the random spawning point kills me every couple waves and some monsters seems to be immune to death.
It could be an awesome minigame with a bit more work

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:55am

I liked taking the theme literally and placing it on a clock. As others mentioned, there are technical problems in the game that prevent it from quite being as good as it should.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Nice job, I liked how not all enemies had the same movement type.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]