August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The qi quest

by CoOz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A speed/dexterity game based on the "10 seconds" theme.

I based it on binary version of "10" = 2

To represent "2" i thought about Yin and Yang. I've read wikipedia and i found the "qi" notion.

And i made this! I hope you'll enjoy it as much as i did while coding it.

Share your scores!
-----------------------------
Tablet/Smartphones version coming soon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#377Innovation3.21
#489Audio2.68
#626Fun2.83
#647Mood2.61
#700Overall2.93
#769Graphics2.55
#792Theme2.90
#802Humor1.83
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice concept, nice game! :)
I had a bit of a hard time figuring out what I had to do at first, but once you get the hang of it it's fun :)
I played the HTML version and had a bit of an issue with it constantly selecting the canvas object (because you have to click and drag), which made me have to click outside the object to deselect it, but I'm not sure there's all that much you could do about that...

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

@zedutchgandalf thanks for the comment! :)
I've made some css changes on the html5 version as you reported.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

A bit confused. Played the HTML5 version and it constantly got stuck and wouldn't let me release the object. Didn't really get the point of the 'binary' thing. Interesting, though.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I think this game would feel better on a mobile device, but anyway I like it.

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice game and nice feeling to it. Sometimes the mouse would stick to the object and not let go.

I'll give you a 10 ;-)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Really satisfying game to play quite east to pick up too. Interesting take on the theme and a cool example of precision as a game mechanic. Good work for 48h rated highly. :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very cool concept! I liked how the dude in the robe gives you advice between levels. A little difficult to understand the rules at first, but a pretty fun game!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Great job! This game was really fun and a really great take on the theme. It was a very simple idea that was implemented really well and explained nicely. I really liked it!

Alink says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cool game and presentation. I liked the mouse interface but I had troubles with the perfects (not even sure what is a 'perfect' exactly, just the angle?)

triforcespark says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

This is a nice and challenging game.

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Woah this is a really interesting concept, great work :O

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Simple, but quite nice little puzzle piece

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:48am

This one's a challenging game ... Stuck at level 6 because it was hard yet I had fun playing this one :D

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Love the take on the theme, very unique. The game was fun yet challenging. Good job! I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice puzzle, thanks for the android version!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:50am

nice idea! feels punchy. Bonus-points for amking an android-centered/based game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]