August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jack of All Trades

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

Made for the game jam.
You've got 10 seconds to diffuse a bomb. The components are randomly generated. Either look at the ticker, or team up with a friend and have him relay the instructions to you.

Multiplayer basically relies on good-will, as it's easy to cheat.

But it's fun, and gives off a spaceteam vibe!

Cross-platform play technically!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

This game is the most unique I have seen on LD. Unique isn't bad though, this game is quite the opposite. :)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

Love it guys! Good work! <3

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

Very original idea, cleanly executed, if fiendishly difficult. :) Both the art style and music is awesome! Good work.

Sayaer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Haha had some fun with this one, very tense, liked the graphics too.

Shivers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Love your stuff as always!

This is like Simon on Crack!

JD557 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Interesting game. I could only test the single player mode though, so I guess it's even more fun with a friend.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36am

I did SP mode. It seemed a little easy once I caught on to what I was supposed to do...but then again I was finishing each one with only a second or so to spare :)

sudorossy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:25am

Thanks for he feedback everyone! Greatly appreciated.

I originally wanted to put in a difficulty mode. There's one that just gives you every possible item. Even I couldn't complete it. Never had time to reliably implement though

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This is really cool. I played on Android, and it works pretty well. Only problem was I couldn't slide the slider, and one time the display only showed 88 instead of the countdown.

Small bugs aside, I really like this; it's one of my favorite games so far. Are the sequences procedurally generated? I would definitely play an expanded version of this game!

sudorossy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:03am

Thanks for the feedback! I want to look into the slider issue. It works fine on the 2 test devices I have, but I've recieved multiple reports.

Funny thing, the display reading 88, flashing 12, going blank or random is actually a feature. I wanted it to seem like you broke the display by cutting a wire.

It is procedurally generated. In the sense that a seed determines the order you need to do certain actions (and which actions are available). Try the multiplayer, as it makes it a bit more transparent :)

Mironix says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:07pm

This need's more ratings :) super fun

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:41am

Great concept! The first few times I played on Android, I kept trying to swipe the red and blue wires to cut them, which does not work. After a while I figured out that I needed to tap them. The slider is slightly finicky - sometimes I grab it and it slides, other times it does not - you could expand the touch rectangle around it. I usually lost when I needed to key a number into the numpad, because this takes much longer than touching the other components.
Overall a very good, interesting game, and I am impressed that you managed to include cross-platform multiplayer!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]