August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jack and the Alarm Clock

by Frozen Fractal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jack has to climb up the beanstalk to steal the sleeping giant's treasure, but on the way down, the giant's alarm clock is about to go off! You have to strategically place snooze buttons along the way to keep him dozing, buying time to reach the ground safely.

A WebGL browser game in CoffeeScript. Tested in Chrome and Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#85Humor3.46
#145Theme3.67
#199Audio3.20
#207Fun3.39
#237Overall3.42
#255Graphics3.43
#411Mood2.91
#521Innovation3.00

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice take on an old classic story :)

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

My Firefox 23 crashed when I got to the giant unfortunately.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Awesome music, awesome idea, but the jump is kinda fast and you have to do a lot leap of faith till win.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Haha! Poor Peter Molyneux! Why do you have to take his money? Enjoyed it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice work with the level-design! I like how the story builds up naturally

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Nice game, slightly annoying controls though.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Thumbs up to make me wanted to turn on my megadrive :)

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

This is the best entry I've played so far!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice game, works well :)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Overall a great experience and entry to LD. Very polished and complete!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31am

I like the concept very much. But I found the way up a bit too long to do it every time you fail. Would have been awesome if the giant had actually chased you ;) Nice game!

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very solid platformer! I like the snooze button device.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Hehe nice idea :) It gets frustrating sometimes, especially when I realize for the umpteenth time that I forgot to drop the snoozes. Beat it without time ever running out btw, always got smashed. Just checked to see what happens if it does.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

@timtipgames: Thanks! Both checkpointing and a chasing giant were on the wishlist, but they didn't make the 48h cut :(

@Dining Philosopher: Yeah, I realized too late that the balance was off, didn't want to redo all the levels. I could have changed the timer to 7 seconds, but y'know, theme and all that...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Haha, really unique take on the theme, nice idea!

The controls were really clunky though, the jumping could perhaps have bit more floatiness into it. Also the music was was ear breakingly bad.

But the hilarious ending made it worth it!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39am

Great graphics, a nice tie in with the fairy tale, a bit silly, and very well polished. My only major complaint is that the jumping mechanic was a but unforgiving. I also with the platforms were jump-through so you could just up through them from the bottom. Overall, very nice job.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

All 5's from me. amazing entry. great music, sfx, the parallax clouds are amazing (I have a cloud game and spend weeks on drawing clouds).

I like how you discover the alarm clock and then are able to skill it later. it's genius. really amazing entry. great work.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Sweet concept - ran MUCH smoother for me in chrome than firefox.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

@AdventureIslands: I know I'm no great composer :) In the interest of improving my skills, what in particular don't you like about the music? Is it the chiptune instruments? The accompaniment that I invented? The lack of any dynamics? Or do you just not like Irish jigs in general? ;)

@tigerj: Thank you for the praise!

@gritfish: Funny, it's a bit smoother in FF for me. Which surprised me because I usually find Chrome faster.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Really nice game, and so much addictive! The jumping is a little imprecise, especially when the platform is getting harder. But overall it's a very good job.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice game, well executed :)

whiteravens says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Frame rate seems to be too fast, but good game!

zzForrest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Really cool! I liked the different take on a classic tale. I think the mechanic was pretty cool, but unfortunately the game had less of a focus on placing snooze buttons in well planned places, instead focusing on how fast you can do a pixel perfect jump. The first chicken level is nearly impossible due to this.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Nice work here. Smart theme usage, really liked this game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:19am

The jumping felt a bit weird and took some time to get used to, but it was fun.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:22am

Good job on introducing the snooze button, which gives some dynamic in the gameplay. But levels were a bit too easy in 10+ seconds.

For info, I had some trouble in chrome, I went off the page for few seconds and when I came back, the fps was awfully high. Problem solved by reloading the page.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Good game with nice sounds and music. Very solid without any glitches. Since I am not a big fan of platformers and my skill is very low, I had no chance to finish more than two levels, but the level design and game design is very solid.
Good Work!

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

A great and original idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]