August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Hack

by quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow Keys or WASD to move. How far can you progress before you crash into a firewall or get your connection traced?

Picking up "clocks" delays the trace time!

===
I had a 6 Ludum Dare streak going and I didn't want to break it, despite being out of the country. This is what I quickly threw together in a few hours during a flight over the Atlantic with no Internet access. I didn't even have a mouse!

Originally it was going to be a Hollywood-style hacking concept with frogger-style gameplay, but my time window just didn't allow anything more than this. At least the streak continues! Hopefully I can do a "proper" game for LD28!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#246Overall3.40
#246Fun3.33
#563Graphics2.87
#574Innovation2.93
#603Theme3.13
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Nice to see you were able to submit a game, given your rl circumstances. It felt like a modern version of Frogger :-)

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

This, I did not expect.

MattySVN says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Very fun game! And very addictive good job! :D

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I gave you a 5 in humor for your story

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

This is a well done simple game especially given the circumstances. I found it fun to play a few times over and it was decently challenging, but probably could be a bit harder.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

It's a cool game. The only strange think is that you seem to move on a different grid than the platform/time extends. Keep up the good work !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Impressive considering the circumstances. My main criticism would be that sometimes it was a bit difficult to judge whether or not a firewall would hit you if you stepped forward.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Surprisingly compulsive. Nice work given your were on a plane. My high score was 9300.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Programmed at 30000 feet. That must be a first for Ludum Dare. Great game. Simple, but addictive!

Would have been fun if you had done a stream from the plane. Imagine it: Constant deafening sound in the background, and other passengers telling you to be quiet... :-D

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I wasn't expecting this, good job !

netguy204 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

Way to not break your streak! Nice entry and clever idea. It didn't have much staying power with me but it was a few enjoyable moments. I'd say that's quite good for an LD entry and very good for an "over the atlantic" LD entry.

Someone should start an in-flight gamejam!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:58am

I was trying to convince myself that there's an end and kept trying :P Then I read your description. Mad props for making a game during a flight! That's one way to kill time :P

Still a fully functional fun game with challenge.

Katamori says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Enjoyable, solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]