August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A DEUS

by tamat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is an asymetric game where one player has to destroy the other player's planet, meanwhile the second player can deploy defenses.

Every player has 10 seconds of "camera time", after that the camera switches to the other player. But you can still play while the camera is away.

There are some key gameplay components missing but I hope I will solve them tomorrow.

All the game is done in Javascript + WebGL using my own lowlevel framework

All the images are prodeduraly generated at startup, besides the planet and the asteroids.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.74
Coolness62%
#231Innovation3.46
#233Mood3.21
#510Theme3.23
#584Overall3.03
#993Fun2.34

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41am

Graphics are stunning, but my biggest issue here is that it's barely playable :( Please, add move love to controls of the spaceship and transparency of goal/mechanics to player!

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

You are right, I will do it for the post-compo version. I starting adding the gameplay mechanics 5 hours before the ending time :/

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I don't know how to play this. Even with the info text. I can neither lay mines, nor can I shoot as the second player.

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

player2 cant shoot, player1 shoots using the spacebar.
to lay mines as player2 simple press right mouse button.
But I know it is a little bit ofuscated.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Wow, incredibly stunning graphics.
Difficult to appreciate if you are sitting alone in front of your computer though, but love the visual!!!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

This looks fantastic, and I love that you did it in JS/WebGL. The mechanics could use some work, though. The ship is quite difficult to control: he should react more snappily to input, and there should probably be more "friction".

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I thought about adding some friction but it is in the space! (although I can see how this game is not scientifically accurate in any way)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

If only it just had a bit better instruction..

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Very nice graphics! But yeah, hard to figure out what's going on.

gartoks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Looks very nice ! But the gameplay falls a littlebit short.
btw: If this is for the 48h-Compo, should'nt be there source code ?!

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

are you planing to do this an online game?...that would be amazing and new ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Great visuals, having a hard time rating anything else other than the theme, which you seem to nail... also would love to see the source, thanks.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

splendid craftsmenship - hope you'll make it online !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Such stunning graphics! I remember seeing this on the front page and being really fascinated, and I'm really hoping to see it taken further!

tamat says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Thanks for the comments. I would love to reuse some parts to do some kind of online game, but wont be realtime.
About the source code, well, its a web game, so all the source is available rightclicking on the web. Anyway, I created a zip and linked it here.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Stunning game! Feels punchy too. Figuring out what ultimately to do is a bit hard though :P

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:02pm

stunning art D:

Thermite says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Visually a very nice game, but the camera switching combined with the awkward ship controls make it difficult to play.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Graphically it is stunning, but gameplay is relly confusing. Also, I think movement is bugged because my ship started flying away at extremely high velocity.

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Brilliant graphics, but the camera swap is quite disorientating and makes it difficult to play.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Yay HTML5! Oh, Chrome. Sorry.

tamat says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:39pm

It works perfectly in Firefox, Chrome is just a tip

rxi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

After seeing the screenshots of the game I actually went out of my way to try and find a means of enabling webGL on my (apparently black listed) linux setup, surprisingly enough, once I force enabled it the game seemed to run perfectly!

Probably one of the best looking entries I've seen, feeling a little similar in style to the "PROBE TEAM" entry, given that futuristic tech sort of look. I don't have much to add besides what other's have mentioned. Assuming I'm correct in thinking it requires two people hot seating it to play I feel I can't really be a fair judge as I was just trying it out alone!

I can tell it's a really excellent effort though, even if I didn't get to play it "properly".

markusfisch says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Wow! Incredible that you did all this in just 48 hours. Really impressive.

loxo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I like the awesome graphics and the game concept! With some work on the controls and added audio this game would be incredible.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Beautiful graphics, but the ship is difficult to move

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]