August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Starlit Shoot-Out

by NiallM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Local 2-player duel. You have a shield and one bullet. When the timer runs out you lose your shield. Last woman standing wins.

(I recommend playing on Windows if possible; lua's os.clock() function screws up the countdown on OSX and Linux)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Audio3.43
#184Humor3.06
#522Mood2.77
#639Fun2.82
#650Graphics2.74
#820Overall2.78
#826Innovation2.61
#925Theme2.70
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

superfoonly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nicely done! I loved the western theme music. Also, extra fun-ness for making it multiplayer

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice multiplayer game, and good use of the theme. I love how it features females :P I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Nice idea! I like the mechanics

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49am

An interesting idea and nice graphics. Seems to be lacking content. Requiring more than one to play is a bit much. A simple AI could have been included.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:18am

Sound effects were awesome! Good job!

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48am

Your sound effect make me laugh. Nice work.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07am

Pretty good. I like the music.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

Game is crashed after 1-2 seconds from launch on my Windows 7 x64.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very simple gameplay but a really nice execution! :D The music is just awesome. And the visual art is great too. Reminds me of this paper cut style.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30am

I couldn't install it on Linux from your instructions, could you provide clearer commands as I wanna play it! :-)

cafeine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57am

Neat! The game is quite fun, the theme music is excellent... oh, and I can redefine keys, thanks a ton for that!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Absolutely love the hand drawn art.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Nice audio and bullet time effect out there.

NiallM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:57am

Sorry for being slow to respond; have been kind of busy. Thanks for the kind comments everyone :)

@TheDreik: Sorry about that. If you pass -debug to the game on the command line, it'll generate a debug log, which *might* help me track down what's causing the crash.

@lazyeels: I'm not entirely sure how I can make it any easier. I don't know how to make a Linux binary that will work universally, so I figure distributing it as source code is the simplest solution. To reiterate what's in the INSTALL file, you need to install the various libraries that the game depends on via your package manager, then (in a terminal) navigate to the game's 'build' directory and enter the command: cmake ..
Followed by: sudo make install

Oana says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Cute sound effects.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Awesome game! I like especially the music and the sound effects. And the slow down of the bullets is great also.

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:20pm

It crashes for me as well - under similar circumstances. Passing -debug doesn't give a error message unfortunately.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

nice mechanic ....very nice art I love it

NiallM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:28pm

@Starspell: Oh, I should have made that more clear. It should have left a log file named something like NiallDebugFile-1378063619.txt in your home directory?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]