August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Samurai Cafe

by caranha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Samurai Cafe: Your order in 10 seconds, or we are going to commit seppuku!"

That was the wonderful idea by Beet, the delivery robot, to increase the awareness of the little Cafe he ran with Bronks, the cook robot.

Now you have to make and deliver pizza for all the patrons that are coming!

Samurai Cafe is a twitchy action game. Your goal is to deliver pizzas on demand to the clients. If any of them waits for more than 10 seconds, the game is over.

This game was developed with libGDX for Android and desktop.
I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#206Humor3.00
#328Theme3.39
#527Audio2.60
#593Mood2.68
#644Innovation2.84
#647Fun2.81
#676Overall2.95
#778Graphics2.54

Comments

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

Nice idea. I have to admit.. I lost until I realized that I needed to drag to the tables. Once I actually read the How to, it was a great game. Had fun!!

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

This looks really cool, but for some reason I can't figure out how to drag the pizza to the "ready" tray. I tried clicking both the pizza and the tray and dragging/dropping but no luck.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

@nathanhoffer Ahhh... thank you! I should have refreshed before posting my comment haha.

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

Cool idea, and the game works well, but it's too slow going for my taste. probably gets faster later in the game but I never got there...

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Zerebruin: Thanks for the feedback! Yeah, I didn't have a lot of time for balancing the game, so I had no idea if the game would be too slow or too fast for others. I'll try a better difficulty curve in the Post-compo version.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

Hello ! As Zerebruin said, the game works quite well and looks nice. Also, your autotracker music works surprisingly well. But it is quite slow unfortunately.

Also, I tried to create random pizzas before customers came, but then I discovered that I couldn't destroy the useless extra pizzas so I stopped :p

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

Hey Egg!

Yeah, throwing pre-made pizzas in the trash was a feature that got cut due to budged constraints ;-)

Autotracker music can get old, but it is nice for fast paced game!

Cheers!

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Love the android port as usual. It definitely starts off slow. Do they ever ask for four-topping pizzas? It seems like it'd be pretty hard to tell what they ordered at that point, though I think that chaos would really add to the game.

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This just plain doesn't work on my Windows PC. The only ingredients I can click on are the top left two.

Sadness.

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Pretty fun game. I sometimes felt like there was too much time between customers though, which made it feel a bit slow at times. That said, I found myself playing it for quite a while! Well done!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Dragging pizzas that where done sometimes didn't work for me. I am talking about the ones that are already out of the oven. But the game is pretty fun as long as the dragging works ;-) played and rated from my android phone (nexus 4)

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Vandriver:

There is a "difficulty array" that lists the maximum number of toppings, the maximum number of clients at the same time on the screen, and the frequency between clients.

So it is possible to have multiple toppings, but because I had no time to balance-test, The clients will only ask for multiple toppings far ahead in the game (after 20 pizzas or so)

I clearly underestimated the gaming abilities of my LD raters :-D Next version of the game I'm going to crank the difficulty way up!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

A little buggy, but fun, a good game for passing time.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Liked it!
two things:
1) Sometimes ingredients asked for weren't that clear
2) I would've added a pizza following the mouse when you drag it. It got me really confused at first.
Overall, nice game.
And thank you for your video review! That was so nice of you!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very nice little game; I had fun playing it! I had to move the window at some point and the customer walked off the screen, but he came back.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Those are some pretty undercooked pizzas probably, haha :D

It is a bit hard to see the pizza toppings in the small order images - that might be due to my high resolution on a small laptop monitor though. Apart from that, I quite like the look of the game!

Like others remarked, the pacing is so sloooow. I would've liked to get multiple toppings, but I didn't have the patience to play so far.

The autotracker music fits rather well. Still: You should give http://abundant-music.com a try! Similar to autotracker in that it generates the music for you, but it has MUCH higher quality.

All in all, pretty cool game! Good job!

PS: I love your avatar.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

PPS: Were you thinking of Samurai Pizza Cats when choosing the filename / the theme of your game?

caranha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

Tobias: Thanks for the abundant-music idea! I will take a look at it when I'm back from work.

As for samurai Pizza cats, I have no idea what you're talking about.

Feysoura: I loved idea #2! I'll be sure to implement it!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I like it! A little tough to understand, but I got it.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40am

Pretty interesting idea.
Drag-and-drop system not shown visually which make thats game part not very intuitive.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

What the others have said ^^
Good entry.

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25pm

TheDreik: You are right! I wanted to implement some drag and drop visualization, but didn't have the time :-(

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24pm

My only real problem with the game was the lack of consistency between the input methods. Having to switch between click to place and drag and drop kinda broke my flow. Also I could be that I just suck.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:20am

Like the idea.

It feels very odd to drag something without having it follow the mouse, a click system would probably have been better.

Should consider equalizing the tables and the ingredients it seems as if they take different time to reach.

There is a bit much waiting between the very intensive pizza orderings for me.

Like the graphics, animations and the music.

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:01am

Ok, I learn two things playing this. I can't cook and now I'm hungry. Jokes aside... I think the theme matches perfectly with this kind of game. I loved the name and the main character! A samurai robot that works at a cafe that makes pizza! hahaha

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

"A samurai robot that works at a cafe that makes pizza!"

EXACTLY! :-D

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

My first four robots committed sepuku, kind of remind me of current job at a pizza kitchen, sigh......

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

This is a really neat idea, although the pizzas and toppings were a little too small. I'd definitely play a polished version of this! Also, kudos on using libGDX!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:36pm

It is the first time I lead a robot to commit seppuku. It makes me feel sad. Sort of. Very fun game though :)

caranha says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:01am

Kevin: Thanks! LibGDX is so much better than Slick2D, I'm loving it. As for the toppings, blame it also on my poor artistic skills :-) I will work on a post-compo version soon!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Hey man, I still need a video for my game :
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=20047
Gonna play your entry now !!! :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Ha! Fun idea, though the pizza toppings are really hard to keep apart in peoples orders, they should be bigger. Cool game, but quite hard! :)

bitserum says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Fun game, a bit too slow at the beginning but it picks up the pace nicely soon enough.
I laughed too hard at the seppuku line :)

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice idea, but the game is a bit slow. And suddenly there are 2 customers at the same time, so I lost. I like the robots and the music fits. Some sound effects would be great though. Your game made me hungry, now I want a pizza for myself :)

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Restaurants in my city can learn a lot from this game bwaha

Crazi456 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Was fun once I figured out what I was doing! Nice work! On a side note, my game would like a video review! :D http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=20961

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Hey, thanks for the video man, great job!
Didn't realize my game was so hard... sorry about that! ;)

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Solid entry, everyone has already said what needs to be said :)

Also, I enjoyed watching your review videos! They let me kick back and take in some LD when I was eating, or when my wrists needed a break from programming and gaming. Thanks for making those :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]