August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

squaredare

by Inertia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

in this game the player controls a square and there's really no aim other than to score lots of points except you can't share or save your highscores which makes the whole thing kinda pointless really, oh well.

there is no win condition, only the warm embrace of failure.

I used:
LOVE2D (engine) (it's lovely! try it!)
Lua (programming) (also lovely!)
Paint.NET (sprites) (kinda annoying!)
sfxr (sound effects) (you should probably mute these)
GitHub (sauce control) (i thought i'd include the source in a zip because I might screw with the code on the repo later)

EDIT: Added a download link for the .love file, for those of you who have <3 installed.

EDIT 2: Hopefully fixed the windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#253Fun3.32
#521Innovation3.00
#538Overall3.07
#579Audio2.50
#593Theme3.14
#660Humor2.06
#735Graphics2.59
#781Mood2.45

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Before the internets games rarely shared their scores, and some did not even save them either. So it is not necessarily pointless ;)

Could you include the .love file in the source please? I am not a Windows and would still love to try this!

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Or the github link even...

iyzsong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20am

@keyboardmonkey, you can just download the source, unpack, run 'love .' in it.

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

@keyboardmonkey: Try downloading the source and renaming the .zip it comes in to a .love file, then running it. Magic! :D

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

The game got me hooked :) Trying to get that speed demon to behave and rack up the seconds was a lot of fun. The glow of the player block was a nice touch.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I was not able to run it (game crashes without specific message) on Win 7 64b. :'(

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

wont run(Win 8(x64))
Error
Title: ld27.exe - Application Error
Message: The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b) Click OK to close the application

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Same as thepattybeast. x64 here, won't run

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

You should definitely include the .love file in the source, I only have a Linux computer and I usually skip immediately games with only a Windows and Source link. It's good that this time I read the description before and noticed that I would be able to play it.

It goes a bit too fast but the game is really addictive.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Me too. Won't run on Win8 64.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Couldn't play it! Got an error!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Will check back for a working version.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Nice little game. The player sped along like a demon, so it was a little hard to control. Also, you can use 'require' statements in LOVE to load in other modules. It's the more idiomatic way to do "includes" in Lua.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

Simple, but really fun. The fact that the blue squares became more common <10 seconds and less common above 10 seconds created a nice element of pacing to the gameplay. Probably one of the few games that I'll hang onto after the competition ends.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18am

The irony of a game being pointless, when it is actually about points. :') I scored 28,500!

"Hmm, this isn't too bad, plenty of time for grabs. Hah, I could do this all day! ... OH GOD THE -8's ARE EVERYWHERE."

Loved playing this, because even if it's a small game, it's very polished! (except for spawning in a wall on my first try, hmp)

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

Wicked fun little game.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10am

Interesting game.

Played for a few minutes without noticing any increase in difficulty. If the difficulty do increase it should probably be increased faster.

Like the moving around, didn't figure out when the character stops at pickup. Think the game would be better without stopping after pickups since it would give the opportunity to learn the level.

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Hello! Thanks for trying to play my game!

I think it is very important to have a high score table, even if you can't share it! It gives people a reason to try and play your game a second, or third time.

I think you have a nice idea here, but your game needs a lot of polish. Some very immediate examples:

- Make a menu or start screen: when I launch your game, it already starts, so the player will be confused! A launch screen is not that hard to add.
- add a border of blocks around the screen to determine play area.
- maybe make a rising difficulty level? it seems that the difficulty level is constant across the game.

I hope to see you on your next LD!
And here is a video of me playing your game, I hope you enjoy it: http://youtu.be/54qiCWVSGM4

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

MEGA POINTS FOR USING LOVE2D!!!

Inertia says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

@Angrycrow it is basically the best thing

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

This game is really engrossing. I'll be honest in that I didn't think there was much to it at first, but then I got sucked in and ended up with 159200 points. One thing that stood out was that I was never sure when my player would stop in midair, or push on through another square. A bit more predictability there, and maybe some more polished graphics and I could really see this getting an audience.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Nice! This is a really good idea! I think if you expanded this idea a little and polished up the game it would be really great!

Photon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This game surprised me! Its actually quite fun! It appears there might be a few collision issues, but otherwise its actually moderately engaging. Excellent job!

RustyC says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I liked it a lot. It seemed a bit too easy and the 10 second connection seemed a bit strained. That being said, the atmosphere was very nice and it had a really hectic feel. I think a smaller area might have made the gameplay more intense, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]