August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dango Rush

by ghRibacki - Jam Entry

You start with 10 seconds. Each enemy you beat gives you 10 more seconds. You need to find your girl before the time runs out.

The game includes 8 types of bullets, 4 types of enemies and randomly generated levels.

This is my first jam entry and I dedicate it to my awesome team. :)

Designed by Aline Lermen and Guilherme Ribacki
Art by Aline Lermen
Music by Guilherme Carvalho
Programming by Guilherme Ribacki

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#125Audio(Jam)3.35
#143Fun(Jam)3.30
#213Theme(Jam)3.27
#219Humor(Jam)2.72
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#273Mood(Jam)2.97
#348Graphics(Jam)3.04
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

Damn, that's hard!! Couldn't beat it D:

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Wow it is hard! I enjoyed it, and liked the music and sounds, but I wasn't too keen on how the theme was implemented. I didn't really have time to keep checking the timer, and it became quite a frustrating way of losing, I found. I think if it was implemented in a full-screen sort of meter (like an equivilent to what happens when you get shot in modern shooters) or a time bar, it would be much more effective ;) Aayway, it was good fun, thanks ;)

galman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice game! Quite hard a the beginning, but I managed to play it later :) I really like the idea, it would be really awesome if you'll continue working on it, adding more kinds of weapons maybe? and maybe make other kinds of easier enemies at the beginning! Well done :D

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12pm

After numerous attempts, I was finally able to find my girlfriend and start a great Dango family. :D

I got really hooked on it, and had a lot of fun. I probably played it for half an hour, and the music didn't get old.

I have two pieces of criticism though. The level generator needs work. Some times there would be the same mob in every room and never a single upgrade. Another time, the first room held the orange upgrade. And the most interesting enemies seem to show up way too rarely.

The other thing is that it's too easy to walk right into a bullet when changing rooms. This just feels unfair.

Please, keep working on this. If you can address these issues and add more variety, it will be a great little game. :D

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Can't count how many time I died !

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

Grrrr... that was hard. Find the girlfriend my ass! I was running like crazy and think I got hit by every enemy in every ttime I tried. Hate you all! Loved the roguelike vibe! The shooting sound can get annoying sometimes. Now let try one more time.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Good job, I really love it difficult and the randomly generated levels

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Game was very hard but fun and I liked the music. The idea was really cool aswell. Loved the graphics good job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Ouch, that's pretty difficult. Sometimes I enter a room and I'm immediately hit by a passing enemy, without being able to avoid it. The enemies are cheap, some variety and a better AI would make it more enjoyable. Still, nice little game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Pretty hard game, to me, not that much fun... sorry! Music was LOUD, which is a good thing! :)

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice game.
Hard to succeed to shot the ennemy, I think I would prefer it would either shoot where I walk OR show where my mouse points, playing with two arrows on a keyboard is hard for my brain!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Wow, difficult game but a nice Isaac-alike. The time factor makes it extra tough!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

The gameplay is fast-paced and difficult, but still fun. I wish there was some warning in the last three seconds of my life!

Anachron says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

Tough challenge, but the inspiring music keeps you going!

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:29pm

The audio was very good, and I found the game to be fun to play, at least until you get to the part with four ennemies per room (are you suppose to even try to kill one ennemy in those ? Because I just used the minute of time I got from the rpeious room to pass through them avoiding the missiles).
But in the end, I accomplished my mission. And you did, too!

proc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Amazing fun. I was rubbish at it but after learning a bit of the movements of the enemies it all started to come together. Diagonal shoot I guess might break it a bit but it is a natural fit for this kind of game. Great work. One game I started I walked down and my girlfriend was there. First completion was also my easiest run though :) but you might want to change that happening

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:35am

Pretty good. I only wish that there was some sort of health pick up.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Solid roguelike! This could be nicely extended

Ithildin says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Nice entry. Music is great, and as a fan of The Binding of Isaac gameplay is cool as well. The time restriction makes it even tougher, which is not necessarily bad.

Now let's give it one more try... :D
(Good job!!)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I like the randomly generated level. First try, and the pink blob was in the first room near the start.
It's fun even if a bit hard with the first weapon during the first times.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

Fun little game but I find it REALLY hard at the same time. I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:04am

really great game -- i like your idea better than min with adding ten seconds per enemy killed -- nice job

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:58am

I really liked the music and controls, but I think the enemies may have been too difficult for me to kill.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:47am

SO hard XD, but loved it.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:24am

Hard is the right word for it!! It's hard to kill an enemy without losing at least one health and there's no regen(ToT)
It got easier after I figured out the trick to anticipate the enemy's movement but I still run out of health after 6 or 7 rooms...

I don't know why but something about this just makes me want to keep on trying. It got fun after some trial an error but still very hard!
I'll give you some extra points in humor for how masochistic this game is :]

Alink says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Good game and fun to learn. Perhaps start with easier enemies (less or even no shoots, slower, weaker, etc)?

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:00am

Finished the game on my 2nd try by luck xD ... It was difficult but fun. Nice audio :D

michail says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Interesting game! I really like the controls and the fact that rooms are randomly generated (however I had a situation when I found a girl after fighting with only one enemy ;)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Thanks a lot for the comment on my game! Did you ever find your friends?

At first, the enemies seemed pretty hard, but after a while, you get used to them and learn there patterns - and then the combination rooms with more than one enemy get more interesting. I really like how you added variety with only 4 different enemies!

I wish there was a way to regain health. Maybe a health fountain in a few rooms after you killed everything there? It would actually add another challenge: Do I go back and lose time, or do I try to fight my way with the little health I have left? Oh, and a mini map. When you have to go back at a certain point, it's a bit hard to find your way back to where you haven't already been.

You did a pretty good job with everything, actually: The graphics are simple, but pleasing to look at, the music fits the game well and the game flows smoothly. Great job, and congratulations on finishing your first jam entry!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 2:37am

On the behalf of the team, I'd like to thank all of you who took the time to play/rate/comment our entry! =D
We really appreciated all of the kind comments and suggestions!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]